Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beeneath The Surface

by Lizzip - Jam Entry

Controls:
- Click a tile next to the bee to move to it
- Click an attack from the right bar, then click a wasp next to the bee to attack it
- If menu or attack clicks do not work, use ESC to close menu, and numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4 to choose attacks

Objective:
- Kill the queen bee
- Don't get killed

Beeneath The Surface is a turn based game about BEEEEES (and wasps).
Each turn you can either move or try to attack.
Each turn you gain 10 energy and 5 health.
One wasp on it's own is not much of a rival, but a swarm will take you down quickly.
You cannot move onto a tile containing a wasp.

Game created by Lizzip and Auroraimortalis using PlayCanvas.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Humor(Jam)3.46
#295Innovation(Jam)3.18
#339Graphics(Jam)3.47
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#448Fun(Jam)2.86
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#669Theme(Jam)2.37
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice game!, I was confused as to whether I was moving or not but figured out it was each time you clicked you moved a direction xD

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Solid puns.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

It's difficult to tell if you're moving. Needs more visual feedback. For a long time I didn't know if I was doing anything.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Thanks all. Just updated it with a more colourful floor so it should be more obvious that you're moving

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Yay I killed a bee. BEEEES!!!

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00pm

At first, movement is confusing and I didn't see the skills. I just tried to run somewhere safe :D

But using the skills improves the game a lot, I enjoyed teaching some beeology to those enemies. Too bad the boss can't move. Nice music, it is really beefitting on anything with insects.

(I like it when people rebels a bit against the theme by adding some variations :) )

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

I can't beelieve how many puns you got in this game. The combat had an interesting learning curve and it felt great to beat the game. The models are pretty good and orange background works (instead of just blank..I always have problems with that.)

I also like the ambient noise (buzzing/outdoor air feel), but I'm not a fan of the music. It's a little too hectic.

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

really hard to figure out where to go.. but was somewhat fun ^ ^ just walked around randomly until i got bored and got some wasps killed.

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Great looking and sounding game, with extra points for the name.

explosivose says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28am

intereSTING game! maybe lerping between tiles when you bumble about would help convey that you're actually moving :-)

I give this game a BEE-plus!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice puns. I agree with the criticisms about not BEEing able to tell if I'm moving or not for the most part.

ovenchips says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:15pm

This game is the bee's knees, honey!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]