Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Finish Him!

by dmcfarline - Jam Entry

On a Ninja's 18th Birthday, they are judged by the Ninja King

worthy Ninja Kids are wlecomed to the ranks of the Ninja Empire

But those who fail to meet the King's approval...

Are cast into The Pit of Death

Made this in less than 6 hours on the final day, super short

Inspired by Mortal Kombat, takes about 2 minutes to play through, with a twist ending!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.44
#77Fun(Jam)3.61
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#291Graphics(Jam)3.58
#349Innovation(Jam)3.06
#375Audio(Jam)3.06
#395Theme(Jam)3.12
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51am

Wow! This is more polished than some of the full 48-hour games, mine included. Seriously impressed.

Loved the ending and gratuitous swears, nice graphic style too.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

For a six hour entry, this is amazing and I loved it. The loving it unrelated to the six hour part. SURPRISE!

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Who knew a ninja could cuss so much? Great stuff :D

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

It's funny, polished and great. It's a pity it's that short.

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Haha, motherfucker I wasnt prepared for that. Short and sweet, made it in the first try :-D

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Haha. What the hell did I just play? Funny stuff.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very effective presentation. Would love to see a longer game like this.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Man! That poor blue guy had a hard time!! Sweet!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13am

Hi man.

This is PaperBlurt.

I'm ranking this "game" highest in all possible categories.
So freaking funny and nice and the premise is awesome and the dialogue:

"The RAD Ninja Empire"

And the twist at the end and the cake and that the blue ninja *SPOILER* dies.

This was truly amazing.

Throw in a high score list and you're done!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

To borrow Blue Ninja's lingo:

You are a f**king genius! This game is brilliant! I really enjoyed playing it.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23am

This is hilarious... I love it. Awesome the pixel art and the humor.. I can't stop laughing. Nice job!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

Ah, ah! Short and funny!

MerlijnVH says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

Short and sweet, great humor!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18am

Haha I enjoyed this. Was surprised and the action was fun. Really liked the lo-fi art (good job there). Well done for 6 hours. Would sneak an update that lets you skip screens faster :)

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:01am

Really great game, funny and great art!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:27am

Not bad =)
Ending make me laught a lot, thanks!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:35pm

HA. I wasn't quite sure why you could just eat up all the buzzsaws and never die, but then I got to the ending and I started laughing. Cute.

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Hi. Nice film reference. Excellent effects.

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:15am

I loved the graphics, nice game

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:47am

Indeed, an amazing entry for only 6 hours. I liked everything about it, especially the humour. The next step would be adding a scoring system and a ladder.

May 7, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Wow! So excellent! Totally not what I was expecting. You rock.

I would totally have attempted a perfect fall, if I had been able to skip the dialogue at the beginning. For some reason, the secret sub theme of LD29 has been "unskippable dialogue".

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:50pm

This was really fun and funny. And wow! For 6 hours, this is really polished!
But it's really hard. >_< I'll try again... later.

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:11pm

lol. funny and cool game.
I'm not a good ninja though :S

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]