Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Souvenirs

by BadPaul34 - Jam Entry

Easy to play : click to play.

Souvenirs is a visual novel starring a son and his mother. She's about to die, and while he.. you kissed her, something weird happened.

You're in her memories. Manage to make her happy by choosing the right memories.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#98Mood(Jam)3.76
#155Theme(Jam)3.59
#156Innovation(Jam)3.50
#168Audio(Jam)3.51
#333Overall(Jam)3.28
#508Graphics(Jam)3.02
#571Fun(Jam)2.60
#603Humor(Jam)1.90

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03am

I'm always a huge fan of games that try to spin the theme in an interesting way. I liked the visual effects, but I felt the audio didn't do enough to set the mood. I was also confused as to how to actually increase my happiness after going through several bowls.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Fascinating use of theme.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43pm

A nice and strange experience. Definitely original. I really liked the effects and the audio. It did seem a little weird to have a 'happiness meter' in a game with such a serious story, though. Perhaps a more subtle way of showing progress could work?

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

really liked this take on the theme :)

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Picking the bowls isn't a real choice in terms of the game: one bowl seems to be just as good as another and the player has no way of knowing what's going to happen when they choose one. That takes away from the impact of the story fragments - which themselves are excellent.

It's a brave idea, but could be presented a lot better.

Also, in a game that depends heavily on written text it's a bit jarring to have spelling and grammar errors. It'd be worth getting someone else to proof-read the text for you - it can be hard to spot your own mistakes!

atombrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Very unique concept. At first I did not get what the game was about and did not know what to do (that's for not reading the description on the page). Some clearer instructions ingame would be nice.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is interesting, but I feel like we're often not left with any meaningful choices--and though that can be done to make a point, there was a definite goal here, not an inevitable outcome. Furthermore, each of the vignettes was simple enough that I really didn't have to think about them.

Rather than a happiness meter, you might consider shifts in atmospheric effects to cue the change in mood.

And, on a writing note: the protagonist doesn't know or understand why he holds the hand and kisses the forehead of his own dying, suffering mother? Is he a sociopath? Is he disconnected from his own emotions? The choice you made is valid, but without any other context it's hard to see it as anything other than a contradictory callousness on the part of the protagonist.

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Hey people. Thanks a lot for all of your comments.
I have to tell everybody that we are french, and we had to translate the whole text. We have a bilingual version. We tried to translate the best, but it was sure that we would have errors.

As for the choices with the bowls, we had a basic idea which was much more difficult and "fun" and also had a lot of gameplay and gave the score a sense (especially how you can feel to do better). But we had a lack of time. This is Game Jam !!! ^^

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

It's very important to keep people happy, especially when someone is dying. I do like your game as well as its music and story.

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:00am

Really well done in the mood category. Now if you'll excuse me, I have a speck of dust in my eye.

dj_pale says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Nice mood and very nice audio! Felt quite linear and there were no extensive gameplay elements. Would liked some graph or similar to show the path that you chose and how it affected happiness for example.

kibertoad says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Great writing and presentation, but somehow it feels like it would work better as a straight-up visual novel, without the bowls thing.

stenol says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Great concept. Good work :)

reheated says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:16am

Something very different. I liked it. It seemed important to play the game a couple of times through to get more of the story.

mrbungle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Really cool and affecting, damn good job!

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:23pm

This is a very strong artistic piece. The bits of sounds and imagery let the viewer open their imagination. With all the pieces of the story, we get a sense of the character's life. Very touching and great job!

May 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I do not think the game worked well for me, but what I saw of it, it was pretty interesting! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Awesome entry :) !

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Wow, I love to find a little gem like this. Great take on the theme!

kristof says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Good use of the theme. The choices felt a bit random. The preview images didn't really help.
Also my laptop got burning hot. This should't happen in a visual novel.
Still, nice work.

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:26am

I like the art style and sound - they go a long way towards setting your mood! I did feel like there wasn't enough connection between what I chose and what the end result was, so I felt a little helpless, like I had to try to read your mind to pick the "correct" answer. Also, the screen was too big - it barely fit in my 1440x900 laptop's display. Nice job handling a serious topic in this format!

May 18, 2014 @ 5:45am

A nice take on the theme! And I really liked the story and the soundtrack of this game!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Woah, that was really creepy! I know some people have said this game would have worked better as a straight-up visual novel, but I felt that the surreal, warped audio/visual affects did a great job at creating a tense & unsettling atmosphere. Without them, the story wouldn't have felt nearly as significant as it did.

Not only that, but it looks like there are a ton of different memories & dialog options to go through. I'll definitely be giving this game a few more spins to see what else I can find, as well as to see the rest of the endings (I think I got the "bittersweet" one). Nice job on making such a fleshed-out experience!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]