Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bellhook

by Colorvade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bellhook is a game about fishing in the desert.

Mouse Controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#81Graphics4.14
#316Theme3.54
#562Innovation3.06
#586Overall3.16
#646Audio2.60
#665Mood2.88
#685Humor2.26
#709Fun2.85

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Cool fishing game. Enjoyed the artwork! Very clean looking.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

Great game with nice graphics.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

It's beautiful to look at.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

I liked your art - you built a cool world with one image. The game reminded me of orisinal games, so that's awesome! Maybe too many evil fish? I was getting electrocuted and pounded left and right!

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

I loved the art work and the humor of your game. What I found annoying is that sometimes we have to wait a long time to appear some touchable items.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Fantastic job with the art! Great looking game.

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

I have no idea what a bell hook is. I was intruiged by this game though and I did have a bit of fun figuring out what to do. Your art style was wonderful, very well made assets. I ran into a bug after my third catch though, everything stopped spawning.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

It was a black screen after the loading bar finished on newgrounds, but it's fine on stencyl.

There are a bunch of fish that can hurt me so I was a voiding them until I accidentally caught one and realized it was a timing thing instead of just good fish bad fish.

The art is really nice though.

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04am

I am in love with these mechanics. It feels so satisfying just playing this.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

Nicely polished for a 48-hr game; well done.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Those lobsters were a nuisance... but got some good desert fishing done. Nice game!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

I always get amazed by how great devs are at graphics!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Nice little fishing game, lots've different fish each with their own nifty gimmick too!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

Oh my god. Lovely, lovely graphics. Plays well, but I'm not so sure what is good and what is bad, and how it really works.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

This gets complex very quickly, nice diversity in types and mechanics, good fun. Looks great too =]

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

Loved your art. Interesting and fun mechanics. Feedback was very clear, I understood what was going on-screen. Intuitive controls

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29am

Really nice, beautifull graphics

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Really hard to control. Had no idea where the house was or how to fish the things out. Figured it out after a while.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

That was very interesting to play. The visuals are ok, sounds too. Lacking some progression though, like spending money on upgrades, or maybe going deeper. Also the fish that rams you constantly is annoying as hell :)

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Looks nice, plays nice. It's certainly tricky to get the more point-worthy fish! Often I'd just come up with a grub :/

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I like it. Escalates into a hectic bullet hell kind of deal very quickly.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Newsground doesn't work for me. Stencyl does. Game was fine, but I was unsure what to do... Graphics and theme were awesome though

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

The art was really awesome! A sand fishing sim is a game I never thought i would want.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Lovely graphics :D

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Really loved the graphics - reminded me of Ridiculous Fishing. Great job! :)

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Unfortunately I made a grave mistake and the Newgrounds upload wasn't working for the first day, but it should be working fine now.

Thank you to those who pointed out the problem.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Blown away by your art!

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Difficult to play with a touchpad, but still nice game. You really put a lot of time in making a variety of spawns.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

Didn't seem intuitive enough... not sure how to play it... looked cool!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Really atmospheric and relaxing. Pretty nice fishing game with some interesting things to catch. Really nice job!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice graphics and real relaxing fishing game. :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Nice artwork and take on the theme!

travislucia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Good artwork, fun idea

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:37am

Great idea and conception,,, i like the artwork.

Photon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24am

Very cool for a quick fishing game! Presentation is good and all the different fish are nice incentives to keep playing as you try to figure out how each one works. Haven't figured out that dark blob fish yet though... :o

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Haha cool idea, and very nice graphics, good job! :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Pretty nice game! It looks great and handles pretty well. Unfortunately I wasn't sure what I was doing, or what I was fishing for. The little mini game after you catch each fish was fun, but when I first encountered it I thought it was strange and sort of random. But I enjoyed exploring a bit and it was interesting!

lonewookie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:04am

Very cool. I love that you used sand instead of water for a fishing game!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:55am

Lags for me a lot. After getting damage few times my bell didn't work anymore...

May 1, 2014 @ 10:48am

the intro screen is SO gorgeous! And lovely graphics in general! I second the remark about too many deadly fish. More positive reinforcement to the player means they will play longer (sometimes :) )

May 1, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice game, the "fishing in the desert" is a cool and original take on the theme. I liked the creatures and how they interact. The art is very well done, too.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:59am

After I scared away a fish like beasty I could not hook anything. Still enjoyed it.

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Nice game, I think learning how to fish was part of the fun

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I find this game very charming.

SonnyBone says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I dig the unique creatures and the overall concept. Could use some more polish and extras, of course, but that's only if you plan on extending the idea. Great work!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:56am

I really enjoyed how many different sea creatures there are, all with different behavior. Unfortunately, the control scheme made me click outside of the game a lot -- some sort of fullscreen mode would probably be ideal for a game like this.

May 14, 2014 @ 4:06pm

You have been featured in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co5k5Gvj8rI

May 16, 2014 @ 4:37pm

The graphics were really awesome

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]