Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ant Simulator 2014

by eteeski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ant Simulator 2014 is exactly what it sounds like. Explore the giant world of being an ant. Socialize with other ants. Do wonderful ant things! Climb giant blades of grass. Explore the depths of the extraordinary ant hill! Controls: WASD to move, Mouse to look. Objective: Just explore, relax, enjoy being an ant.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: There really isn't any "gameplay" implemented. Really the only thing to do is explore. I wanted to add some gameplay where you collect food with the other ants, but I didn't have time in the 48 hours. The entire development of this game was streamed and recorded. It will be uploaded to https://www.youtube.com/user/ETeeskiTutorials Post Mortem: Who knew such a simple idea could turn out so fun? Really it's just a first person controller where you wander around with nothing to do if you really think about it. I've made two other LD games before this one, but this one I really feel like it needs to be developed further. One thing though, I was hoping that adding "2014" to the title would associate me with "Surgeon Simulator 2013" more than it would "Goat Simulator". But oh well, that's ok. ------------------------------------------------------------------- TUTORIALS on HOW TO MAKE GAMES with UNITY3D: Youtube.com/ETeeskiTutorials Website: ETeeski.com Twitter: twitter.com/ETeeski Facebook: facebook.com/ETeeski

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#39Graphics4.33
#86Mood3.81
#143Audio3.52
#289Overall3.46
#326Humor2.81
#342Innovation3.38
#392Theme3.45
#629Fun2.94

Comments

vanZeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

This is fantastic. I would love to have some gameplay added into and some sort of "objective" system in this, beyond this. Amazing work!

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

AMAZING. I rarely use caps but the whole see-like-an-ant, be-like-an-ant was extremely convincing graphically.

Great work on the models/grass/terrain. I really hope you make this into a more of a game (like some simple objectives for the player to do).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

For a game mad in 48 hours this game is great, I was following its development on twitch an you sir should continue developing full game of this, with some objectives. GREAT JOB!

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

This is REALLY impressive. It's just a shame there isn't any gameplay.

djdudes100 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

great work ET :P

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very interesting concept! Amazed by overall mood and atmosphere. I really like how these 'horns' and 'jaws' react to camera motion.
But I didn't get the goal of the game. Is it like do whatever you want Goat Simulator? But then it needs some sort of tasks and achievements to keep the player interested.
Other than that - great job ET!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Never thought running around as an ant is so relaxing.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

OMG ! It's great !
Exploring as an ant is really fun, would have been perfect with some gameplay ! Well done !
What about oculus rift support ?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Watched the whole livestream each day. Loved it! This game, turned out so well. Beautiful graphics, great gameplay, and its just so fun running around a field as a tiny ant. Great job ETeeski, excited for your next LD48 entry. (:

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Awesome XD Fun to walk around and pretend I'm an ant. I laughed when I found the giant golden ant queen thingie XD

EvilGummy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

My dream of an update Sim Ant comes to life! :) Was fun watching you make this.

Tankertype says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

Great Job!!!

mandrake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

Cool concept, I would definitely play this if you add some interesting gameplay later on!

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Super graphics

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

This would be awesome with some gameplay added to it, the mood is already awesome- I was very close to making an ant game as well, with inspiration from the old game SimAnt- Expand upon this!! seriously! Good job!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I kept trying to climb onto the queen like a good ant-slave-husband but to no avail :/

icereci says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Liked the feel, the art is truly amazing for a 48 hour game.

@Korwegian just jump to her antenna from the slope, worked for me :)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Great simulation. I love the sound environment. Great concept, really fun. A full game, please ! :P

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08am

Insane work for 48 hours!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:10am

Very visually stunning, though I wish there was at least a tiny bit of a goal or interaction.

Gunn3rboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:14am

really great concept, amazing that you did this is 48 hours.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30am

Interesting concept... It would have made such a difference if the 'game' had some objective too it :( Keep up the good work though. I'm a fan of your tutorials and they've helped alot with my skills :)

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:05am

Black streak speed by, SONIC THE ANTHOG! To fast, for the naked antenae, SONIC THE ANTHOG! sonic, he can really move! sonic, hes got an attitude! sonic, hes the fastest ant aliiiiiiiive! In all seriousness awesome atmosphere lol :)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I felt like playing an alien in avp2 :)

bentog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:31am

Awesome stuff, man! I'd like to see some interactivity, but there's no need for gameplay. I like the artsy-exploration thing.

Sheepolution says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:46am

This is really cool. Wish I could do some actions, but exploring alone was fun as well.

Artless says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Very atmospheric. This type of game would be great if you were just doing mundane ant things.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:06am

Nice idea, that giant ant was really nice, but maybe you could improve the camera, because it feels strange to rotate it.

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:28pm

This is very cool. Love the graphics and all you managed to do in 48 hours. Would like to play an expanded version at some point!

paps says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:29pm

It's the beginning of the immersion. Loved the golden ant. Can wait to see following of this game (if any).

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:32am

Wonderful! I've always intended to do a "small viewpoint" game (insect/cat/something) and this is a great take on this.

If I may throw some of my ideas out there:
- Add some pheromone visuals in (since I believe that's how ants route their previous trails).
- Missions would involve trail-blazing for your colony (hence time-pressure of the rest following your trail), perhaps you can turn it off/on and/or erase it so consequent ants route differently?
- Oh and when you die, you become the next ant following who's just been promoted!
- Ant lifespan might be affected by nectar/water refills and/or environmental factors (drying out in direct sun ... yeah, and a little boy with magnifying glass!)
- Some carrying mechanics (since they can lift lots)? Also might get to order the 'line' to ferry things about by laying certain type of trail!
- Physics-based world could allow creative solutions to problems.
- Also perhaps include flying ants in later levels?

In fact this is great! Man, so many ideas for this one! Ping me @Arakade if you fancy chatting! (and are you re-joining the Ouya dev hangouts?)

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:34am

p.s. damnit, why aren't I developing *this* game?! Fancy a collaborator?

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:37am

What a great experience. I found it very relaxing to be a (virtual) ant. Now we just need Ant Vision(tm) to follow those pheromone trails :) Another +1 for Oculus Rift support.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very cool looking game, sadly no gameplay, but very good idea. I'll play more once you decide to finish it off. Very enjoyable exploring experience.

kikito says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Haha, nice. The only thing I didn't like was the oversized golden ant - was way out of place in an otherwise realistic setting.

XenosNS says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:33am

Very cool, loved climbing down into the ant nest

May 6, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Excellent work with the level! It really feels like an ant :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]