Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface - The Path

by Baknik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my prototype for a divided-world puzzle game called The Path. The idea is for the player to indirectly manipulate the underground world in order to continue along the path.

This is the first time I've used the Unity engine to create anything, so there is limited content and may be major bugs.

I've only including a web build due to time constraints.

Thanks for playing!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#275Theme3.59
#372Innovation3.34
#899Fun2.62
#912Audio1.95
#972Graphics2.52
#981Humor1.80
#1007Overall2.70
#1094Mood2.29
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

This game, whilst short, shows a lot of potential for future builds. Great idea, keep working on it!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Great concept !

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

cool idea

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

coolio

ryangatts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:37am

I'd love to see this expanded into a few levels. Maybe have different types of switches the player interacts with.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

It fits to the theme. Too bad there isn't much levels. I liked the indirect control over the physics bellow

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

Quite a decent first time. Visually, the environments are clean, and the important elements stand out. Your concept has some good potential. Good work!

Also, next time, go for a better title. Go wild! That's half the fun! (Alright, not really. But it's still important. First impressions and stuff.)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

Little addendum to my previous comment: thought the title was only "Beneath The Surface". My bad. (But it *is* a bit confusing!)

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Cool concept, simple controls, nice physics. Could be a neat mobile game :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Cut short, but I like the concept!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:16am

An interesting concept. I'd be curious to see how you could take advantage of the indirect control for puzzles, or maybe have some timing-based challenges with more buttons to press above-ground.

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:38am

I love the idea and would definitely play an expanded version.

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:01am

Short and sweet. Yup.

But its still nice for what's there. A bit of a shame you didn't get to make some stronger, cooler puzzles with this, but still nifty.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:27pm

The concept is very interesting. Of course it needs some fleshing out, but I think it has some potential.

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:26am

Not bad! I can see where the execution is working, and you've built a good base for potential awesomeness in the future.

Keep up the hard work!

May 6, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice puzzle-ideas!

ptsilent says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:32am

fantastic

May 12, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice concept, shame you didn't have time to make more levels! Brilliant for your first stab at Unity though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]