Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coalmine Manager

by boringprogrammer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Heya.

This is my second LD submission ever.

I wanted to make something original and different from all the digging games out there. So I made coalmine manager!

Safe to say, I did did not succeed in being original. But the game I made is pretty fun I guess.

This entry actually has some sound effects! Mostly chips and twirps, that are easy to make.

Anyway, have fun! Some features I simply did not have time to properly test, so if you find any bugs or crashes, open up the webconsole and post the output. I will be sure to fix them =).

Anyway, have fun!

~ Boringprogrammer

Requires a WebGL browser. I think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50am

Great, fun take on a mining game. Love to see where this could be taken. Good work (excuse the pun!)

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Great game.
Feels very polished for a jam game. I really like the easing/tweening effects.

It's pretty satisfying watching the miners once you get few of them, and it's a nice addition that you're able to command them (although you should probably write that somewhere).
Great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42pm

8 days for me (- ; really enjoyed the game! Nice art, animations , sounds! Great work!

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21am

Nice entry, i like the game especially the final part where you give the points, it was made in a way that is very rewarding for the player.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Good polish and mood. I like how you split the action between the "choice notes" and watching the miners dig out the coal. I also enjoyed the miner's talking while they worked. As far as critical feedback, I felt that I didn't know what the end goal or limit to the game was. It just went on until it started dragging a bit and wasn't as fun. Also, the model is a bit simplistic. The choices were often just yes/no around forever escalating costs. I wish there had been different ways to appease my workers. The system quickly unbalanced and drained money away without a way to recover. Nice work though for 2 days! Solid base of a game that could be improved for sure.

capnramses says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:55pm

this was far too addictive! you could definitely turn this into a bigger game - really nice.

SimianLogic says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:24pm

At first I thought the sun was something in the mine I was trying to get the miners to go get... Very polished for two days but not very "fun" if that's even the goal. You don't really get to do anything other than click checkboxes.

I would like more control over the miners... also thought it was weird that the mine regenerates every night. Would be neater if they kept carving until one "screen" was mined out before moving onto a new mine.

Waterman7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:43pm

It was all going so well, until on day 13 the mine collapsed and killed all of my 8 workers. Then the game crashed after telling me the union has been disbanded.
Maybe I should've listened to my geologist...
Really nicely polished game though, good work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]