Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heart of the Earth

by Dans17 - Jam Entry

Objective: go to the 4 corners of the map looking for 4 gems. (Hint: one is on top of the mountains with moving platforms).

Controls: WASD/arrow keys to move. Space to jump. Mouse to look around.

Explore the mysterious inner world of the Earth in this 3D, first person platformer.

(Made with Unity; Original music recorded on Sonar 3)

Update: We added minor bug fixes so when choosing the file from Windows, choose the "fixed" one.


If you want to play on the Web and the screen is too big, simply zoom out on the webpage i.e. set zoom from 100% to 75%

To download: click the folder "final one (play this)" and on the bottom right click the download button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#282Audio(Jam)3.25
#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#442Mood(Jam)2.95
#554Overall(Jam)2.89
#565Theme(Jam)2.71
#598Innovation(Jam)2.51
#624Humor(Jam)1.80
#685Fun(Jam)2.22

Comments

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

I really wish the alert noise after getting a gem didn't repeat forever.

Dans17 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

Yeah we just realized that. We're adding some minor bug fixes now.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15am

There's probably a lot more to this to what I saw. Jumping didn't feel like it had the right level of control to land on the spots that you have to hit. Frustrating when you die.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

First-person 3D platforming is tough to get right. This is a good attempt, but I think it could use more cues to help the player know where they're going to land. Some tricks that have worked in other games include a drop shadow under the player and automatically ducking the view down a bit so the player sees where they will land (as with Metroid Prime).

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16am

This game looks awesome, and it has an awesome mood! You move slowly, and jumping feels a bit weird, so the gameplay is a little slow. Hitting the platforms is definitely difficult, and being tossed back to the beginning when you die is a bit of a bother. Maybe checkpoints would be nice for the challenges so you don't have to walk all the way back. The fact that it's 3D is awesome, and the terrain is definitely fun to jump around. I spent a good amount of time just jumping up mountains for fun :]!

Dans17 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54am

Yeah we originally planned to have checkpoints but we didn't have time. We'll probably make a post-compo version soon with checkpoints and other improvements. Hyouko, i like your ideas about the jumping so we'll probably add something like that as well. And KirbiKaka, we also had a lot of fun ourselves jumping up the mountains haha.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

The terrain is quite beautiful - graphically, you've done a great job here. I found I kept pressing SHIFT hoping that I would move faster. I think doubling the move speed would make the game much more playable. But other than that, congrats - well done. :)

May 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

Very ambitions jam entry. The changing piano music was a nice touch. It reminded me of Myst a bit, but if it were a platformer instead of a puzzle game. The only thing was a little off was the distance between the levels. I totally understand the vibe you were going for, but since the game is kind of sparse (no points lost there though - it's a 72 hour game after all), it seemed like being able to move faster would have been nice.

Beanalby says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:42am

I was totally on board, until the random death in the maze. No indication that it's coming (that I could see), and have to walk all the way back there across the river? Harsh.

I love the concept though, and it's a great amount of content for a game jam.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:11am

It has potential.
But a tad frustrating to play

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:13am

Jumping felt stiff, everything that wasn't the player moved too quickly, the player moved too slowly, the game just felt kind of aggravating to move through. I liked the musical cues changing. Checkpoints would have been great. There's potential here but it just feels so infuriating to play as it stands right now.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:28am

I don't know if you wanted it to happen, but I could climb any hill I wanted , that was cool.. :o
The player is too sloww ><
Well, good game

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:38am

Very cool, ambitious game! The graphics were amazing, the music helped set up the exploring/mysterious mood. Jumping on the floating platform takes some getting used to... I fell between the slats and couldn't get out. Still, this is very cool!

radmars says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:44am

Very evocative! Love the music though I wished it faded in/out instead of stopping and starting so abruptly. (Would love to download the soundtrack!) Gameplay-wise this could use some polish, movement speed feels too slow/the map is really big so it's tedious to get around, especially when you get kicked back all the way to the beginning when you die. Regardless this has a lot of potential, keep at it!

harko12 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Great music.. the controls could use some tightening up though. maybe less mouse sensitivity

danbo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This is the sort of thing I really like. The music changing as you play is really nice...

Rock48 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Damn, couldn't get this to run on linux -- shame, it really looks cool

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Cool start. Nice world (remind me of the Badlands), nice music. I didn't realize the maze was a maze til I climbed up on a mountain and looked down (maybe tint the opening to make it pop? looks like a wall). After wandering around for 5-10 minutes and not finding a gem, my rage-quit happened in the maze (spike trap). If it had reset me at the start of the maze, I might've kept going... but all the way back across the river was pretty annoying.

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:13am

The mouse sensitivity was too high for me. I liked the music.

Almost says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:01pm

The Unity web player is kind of huge. I have a 1920x1080 monitor, and it only fits if I put my browser in fullscreen mode.

I walk really slowly too.

May 19, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I wanted to play more, but I couldn't deal with the slow walking speed and quit shortly after the first time I died.

KuGrou says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice concept, though movement didn't feel that great. I think the main problem with it is how any movement other than straight forward is at a fraction of your forward speed. This often meant that when trying to make minor adjustment mid jump I would instead come to a dead stop and fall short. Otherwise it was pretty fun except for the random deaths in the maze.

Also liked the music, though it would of been nice if there was a smooth fade between tracks instead of a sudden cut.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]