Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Animus Robotis

by hitchh1k3r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My 4th Ludum Dare entry, and first Solo Ludum Dare entry, and I finished it so I've met my goal!
I was worried about graphics with out a dedicated artist, but I surprised myself ^_^

The game engine I put together for this is a bit buggy, so hopefully it runs for everyone (Linux input is a bit messed up, but should be passable).



Controls:

WASD/Arrow Keys - Move/Jump
Mouse - Shoot



Help/FAQ:

- To play on Newer OS X right click the jar file and click Open, then Open again...



Tools/Details:

Images - http://inkscape.org, http://www.photoshop.com
Sounds - http://www.bfxr.net
Music - http://abundant-music.com

IDE - http://www.eclipse.org
Language - http://www.java.com

Game "Engine" - https://github.com/hitchh1k3r/JavaGameEngine
Sound Library - https://github.com/finnkuusisto/TinySound

Source Code and More - https://github.com/hitchh1k3r/LD29_AnimusRobotis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#297Graphics3.60
#472Audio2.89
#563Humor2.43
#665Mood2.88
#754Overall2.97
#899Fun2.62
#1000Theme2.61
#1158Innovation2.14
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

Couldn't run on OSX Mavericks.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Great game but this may just be me but the game runs very slow at like 2 FPS. Overall love it!

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice game, but the levels are too long/repetitive. Maybe shorter levels would make it more appeal.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

I agree on the levels being a bit too long, but overall a solid game. The mission screens were a nice touch too.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Well, as other says it's too repetitive after while.. Animations and music are really great :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice game. Very good graphics and songs. Good luck.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Runs just fine on Windows 7.
The game is very simple, 2d platformer... the end!
I really liked the death animation of the robots as their arm flew apart :D

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Seems to run fine on my Mavericks install - probably something to do with Java version. (I ran it under Java 8)
Images are pretty nice, nice development of levels as well. The only real problem was the "flatness" of the levels: They feel very one-dimensional.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really good for a solo entry. I can see a lot of work was packed into it.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I couldn't really get past the last level and I didn't really had the feeling I was getting any better or that was even a possibility to get better at it. And getting combo'ed by those machines shooting green fire also felt like it was the game's fault I died instead of having the feeling it was MY fault I got hit.. But aside from that, it is a nice polished game, great job on finishing it in just 48 hours, hope to see you joining the compo next time again :)

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

The controls don't give you fine-grained enough control to avoid the fire on the last level, so it does feel a bit frustrating. Got through it in the end, though, and the ending was worth the effort. Well done! The graphics and animations were great. The writing and level progression are strong elements here.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I never made it to the fourth level but it was pretty challenging! You've got a good start here, now you just need to add the juiciness: the little visual flourish that makes the world feel alive.

ruerob says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:31am

I like your game. It makes fun playing it. After some polishing it could be a really good game. Thank you for this entry.

DesignerNap says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I like to controls and the art is great! well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]