Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mole supervisor

by callmemonamiral - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Type : Management game. With dwarves, beer, and gold.
Platforms : Windows & Web (Unity web player)
Players : 1

In mole supervisor, you are the Dwarf supervisor of mining and gold's mole. Your master is sick, so you have to replace him!
You must bring beer to thirsty miners, and new pickaxes in case they broke theirs.
You can hire new miners to go faster. Just go at the bottom of the place you started, it costs 75 gold.
Beware of the goblins who live in the mines and will kill your miners if you don't find them first !

I hope you will enjoy the game, please share it with your friends, comment it, telling me what was good, what wasn't, how I should have done it, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#162Humor3.27
#174Theme3.72
#177Graphics3.83
#251Overall3.52
#298Mood3.31
#390Fun3.21
#526Innovation3.10
#620Audio2.64

Comments

Alamantus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Great work on this! This game is really interesting and gets pretty fun when you put a lot of time into it. I wish there was a way to upgrade how many beers and pickaxes you could hold, but for what it is, this game is really nice all around!

The graphics are nice, and while there's no music, the gameplay, though a bit monotonous after a while, is fun and challenging enough to keep from getting annoying. Sometimes the mole gets stuck on the rocks a little bit and slows down a lot, which is kind of frustrating, but it's not a game killer.

A way to improve it could be to put in more enemy types (bats? trolls?) and ore types (silver? diamonds?) and maybe even some special dwarf types (fighters? efficient golems that help with mining but disappear after a while?). I feel like it could easily be expanded and put into mobile format to make some money since it's all click-driven. You could even do non-evil IAPs for upgrading your capacity if you really wanted to... :)

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49am

Great setting, love the graphics. Would like to see where this one could be taken as with more goals it would be more fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Awesome game, sleek sfx and smooth gameplay with nice graphics. Good job!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Interesting game, the tooltips at the start were a little buggy for me though.

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It was a lot of fun to try and defend the dwarves and it was a lot of fun with all the miners needs.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

That sure is a cute mole!
Nice take on the theme. I found it pretty hectic. I didn't think about hiring more dwarfs, the ones I had were hard enough to manage!

The opening picture I love.

If I could ask for one thing is some visual clues what was happening. It took me a while to realise that a sound meant that I had picked up a beer or a pickaxe. I also didn't find it very clear if I broght the stuff to the right dwarf. If you would be able to see the stuff the mole was carrying and when it was deliverd it would help.

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Good game with potential. Great job !

r0x0r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

any chance of a linux build?

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I really dig the way the game looks (hehe, puns).
No, but seriously. Thought i dont quite get why you go for pixel art estetics for floor textures.
Gameplay is rather shallow, but still, not bad.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Awesome! Love the concept and the theme, really enjoyed it though I seemed to be fighting with the controls most of the time which isn't great as your trying to desperately kill a dang goblin. Great overall though !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Added the Linux build in a zip, not sure it will work, tell me if it doesn't!

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

Very interresting!

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really cool game. Would need a bit more feedback when you've successfully given an item to a dwarf, or when you run out of items.
But, really, cool concept, and nice execution.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

I really enjoyed how smooth the gameplay was, though the mining sound effects start to grate on your nerves after a while.

Detocroix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29pm

If I was a mole, this would be my job! Thumbs up!

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:45am

Enjoyable.

I got stuck on one level because some miner had decided the last pile of gold was his, so all the other miners were just standing around doing nothing, including one who seemed to be blocking the non-lazy miner from getting to the gold.

Anyway, I hope you fix it up. I like games like this.

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:55am

Is it bad to let goblins kill your workers so you can replace them with ones who aren't really far away and complaining?

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:32am

Nice game. I really like your idea.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

nice, like the overall style. congrats!

May 18, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Very Cool! I really like the game image! Great Work 5 stars all the way around :) -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]