Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blackhedge Noir - Beneath Their Surfaces

by attractivenerd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Blackhedge Noir.

A small town, everybody has a secret, one murder to happen in 3 minutes:
In Blackhedge Noir you take control over a surveillance camera in a small town, trying to look beneath the surfaces of all citizens to eventually identify the killer.

Have lots of fun!

* This project uses the great free fonts 'Samson' and 'Perfect DOS VGA 437'
* Edit: Made a correction to the introduction text and updated game title
* I'll release a small postmortem analysis soon :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#61Mood3.89
#67Graphics4.21
#124Innovation3.79
#133Audio3.54
#187Theme3.70
#199Overall3.59
#469Humor2.55
#661Fun2.90

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

There is nothing in there

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Thanks, Fixed!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

The web page doesn't load anything. I downloaded the source and ran it in Unity though. Really nice atmosphere and great interpretation of the theme. My main problem was since I didn't know who was going to be murdered, it was really difficult to find the person with the right motive.

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

I like puzzle games especially when the puzzle ties in with some sort of story. Nice work. Could you make a bigger version of this after the competition?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

thanks!
@saiato Basically I had no time left to balance the game in that regard, the tips at the end should help, though.
@xevozfighter I'm a bit constrained by the pixel art, but if I release a more advanced and polished version of the game afterwards, I'll make it bigger.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Love the art. Wish is were randomized a bit...

louiscarl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great idea, well executed! I also really like the art!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Best. Spy. Game. Ever!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

THe 3 min constraint is a bit short for non-native english speakers. Nice idea and nice execution though I like the overall ambiance and the choice of a grey palette.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Love the Mood, the vibe and the presentation. How come Presentation isn't a category… it should be. I give you 5 stars for that. congrats!

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28am

I liked it a lot, but that font was a horrible choice for a game where one of the main things you do is read. I'm British and I struggled to read it!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:59pm

nice, different game. and great creative use of the theme! I enjoyed spying on those people more than I should have... lol

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Just awesome, enjoyed myself.
Good job.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:40am

Brief but enjoyable. It didn't seem possible to spy on everyone in one playthrough, though. Perhaps that's deliberate.

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:08am

Love the concept and execution. Took me a few tries to find the killer!

Diptoman says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:20am

Seems like it pretty much requires multiple playthroughs, due to the time mechanic. The game's winnable by hit and try eventually, that really isn't good in a game like this. The look the feel of the game are great, however.

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:35am

I like the concept and the presentation of the game very much. The audio and the black and white graphics manage to create a very atmospheric experience. The idea of the murder that will happen in a short amount of time is interesting, but the enforced time restriction isn't so much fun. Would be nice to remove the timer, but keep the story. Maybe it would be possible to randomize the victim, the background stories and the murderer to get some replay value.

May 21, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Thank you all for your comments, they were very motivating and helpful! I'll release a short post mortem as soon as my finals are over ~mid june.
It was a blast, I'm looking forward to the next LD!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]