Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aerogel

by triforcespark - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(READ FIRST BEFORE PLAYING/JUDGING)

Aerogel is a game ispired by a very lightweight material of the same name.

Mechanics of the game:
>Click the top blocks that has two or more adjacent blocks (this can include the bottom.)
>The blocks float upward after clearing a group of blocks.
>The game gets more difficult as more moves are done.More different blocks spawn.
>Clicking on a single tile wastes moves.
>Game is over after there are no more clearable blocks.

Music/Art/Programming by Shinji Lumiere

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#534Audio2.81
#700Fun2.86
#748Mood2.78
#793Humor2.12
#798Overall2.93
#841Graphics2.71
#948Innovation2.54
#967Theme2.68

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

Really cool take on the bejeweled type game. I like the restriction on where you can click, it really made me think!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Wanted some more content when I started this game. You can't really do much with the limited options available. Need something to give it some more clear depth. Only having a single very difficult to predict mechanic control the entire game is not enough. Especially if you are going for something like a match 3 game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Score 2896 in 56 moves. Really fun game, great twist on the typical kind of genre.

The only thing I could possibly suggest as an improvement (which I'm sure you've considered) is an animation for when you got rid of the blocks - it was a little confusing at first to see why things disappeared and what should appear at the top.

Good stuff!

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Some simple effects, like shrinking the blocks when they die and floating upwards, would have been amazing. Nevertheless, good job.

triforcespark says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I could've worked upon the animations, but I lacked the time (I only did this around ~6 hours, and I didn't have the time to study about threads in lua)

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I really liked the puzzle, played it for a good while, so here is a bug from me :

When you use mouse scroll it adds moves to the move counter.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Some powerups would spice it a little.. but good job anyway :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:32am

Simple and polished. I like the audio.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:59am

Impressed with the mechanics, fun and polished. The audio works pretty well too.

anvoz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Nice little game. I liked the sound when I clicked.

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Ur a Lua scripter too, thats AWESOME XDDDDDDD, Check out my game if you want!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]