Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sim Aunt

by RobotLovesKitty - Jam Entry

You are an Aunt, dig a hole and hold still to become a Queen Aunt.
Collect things Aunts like and return them to your Aunt Hole to grow your Aunt Colony.
Defeat the Red Aunties to win.

Ctrl = Dig or Attack
Alt = Drop Held Item
Arrowkeys = Move

It is perfectly normal game.
It is not best game :\

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Innovation(Jam)3.07
#444Graphics(Jam)3.20
#624Overall(Jam)2.73
#629Fun(Jam)2.40
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I didn't really understand how to play but the sounds and the graphics are awesome ^^

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

This was broken, weird, pointless and in a sense pretty awesome!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Was that multiplayer, and that sound in the background... weird, which means nice.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Strange game, and I wasn't sure what to do. I was digging around a lot. It was also hard for me to pick stuff up. I'm on a Mac, so pressing ctrl + arrow moves around to different desktops, so I think you should have bound your actions to different keys. It looks cool though! The graphics are nice :)

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

Ha, very interesting game. I too am on a mac, so pressing the keyboard controls brought up all sorts of fun windows n stuff. Made for an interesting experience :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

Completly surreal haha. Loved the aunt graphics. I could never find a bad auntie. Feels unfinished but I'm glad you just ran with it.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Its a funny idea, but pretty much sim ant...

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:21am

My weirdest LD experience up until now. Could have some more guidance maybe.

Intoxicatious says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I watched you guys make this game on Twitch. I wanted to like it more, but I found the controls to be hard to overcome. The UI is amazing, though.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I like it even though I didn't quite understand the rules but it was definitely pretty and the weird audio was cool. It wasn't a complete flump so don't be down on yourselves(I was bourbonbrick on your stream earlier). I wish you look in you're future Ludum Dare endeavors. ~Boa

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:44pm

The bad aunties were in the last place I looked. It was certainly odd, but not in a bad way. :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Hi. Movement speed is extremely weird... slow and greatgranny-like on surface, like a ninja once dug in a bit! Love the spinning arms, found wool. Died I think... or possibly just fell asleep!

May 6, 2014 @ 4:36am

What are they saying?!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]