Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Undersand

by TheElephantSeal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please read the included README file for hints and instructions.

This game is really quite terrible. It was an experiment in using Unreal Engine 4's Blueprint visual scripting to substitute C++.

Based on the result, it's clear that Blueprint accomplishes exactly what it set out to. Blueprint is intended as a way for those with little programming background and a significant artistic inclination to create a game of their own, without having to enlist the aid of a programmer. It is for that reason I think Blueprint can be a very helpful tool.

However for a programmer like myself, I think it's a MUCH better idea to stick to C++ or some embedded scripting language.

P.S. Apologies for the relatively huge file size, it's just the nature of UE4, I guess.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Helco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Unfortunately I can not play this game because msvcr120.dll is missing. The installation of the Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 Redistributable didn't help either.

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Same dll problem here. I had trouble with with my game as well. Just including the dll files in the game folder worked for me.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Can't run it either :( Screenshots looked promosing though

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I get a framerate of ~2FPS, which makes the game pretty much unplayable. The graphics look really awesome, too bad my computer can't handle it. Seem like it would be a nice exploration experience though.

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:38am

I would love to test this, unfortunately i'm getting the errors too.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:46am

Really wanted to try. I tried to install the missing library, but with no luck. It's a shame, the game looks pretty tasty.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:06am

me too, msvcr120.dll error :/

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:48am

good

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:00am

Beautiful graphics. Cool experiment to test the UE. :)

For people having trouble with the missing dll: Install the Visual C++ Redistributable 2013 package: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 (I have both x86 and x64 so I don't know which one is correct)

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:15am

I'd love to try some games made on unreal engine. But unfortunately my laptop is not good enough to run it ;_; so I cannot rate your game. When I run it, the frame rate is so low that I cannot bear... I hope I can get a new laptop soon.

May 12, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice try use UE4 :)
I liked the effect of the house in a storm of sand.
But without reading notes is strangely. And music adds a better atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]