Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Happy Place

by Woftles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

http://i.imgur.com/Ix142Jv.gif

A Happy Place
Ludum Dare 29 entry with a focus on graphics, mood, and audio.
A bit of narrative alongside a bit of interactivity.

CONTROLS:
A - Move left
D - Move right
E - Interact

Just try not to die. That's all you have to do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#8Mood4.38
#15Theme4.15
#19Audio4.12
#81Graphics4.14
#140Humor3.32
#167Overall3.66
#208Innovation3.59
#873Fun2.65

Comments

badcc says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I love it! :D Great job

Woftles says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Thanks!

theCoder15 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:09pm

nice game.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

I died, crying in a corner.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

This was a wonderful experience :D Very disappointed that Cry In The Corner didn't make you more thirsty though.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Great game.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

This was really attractive with a nice sense of mood.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

Graphics, mood, and audio are all pretty neat. Love it.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Absolutely beautiful art and perfect sound / music!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Nice job! Love the little glitches. :)

baboum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

It is just perfect! Congrats.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

a little dull, but I suppose that's sort of the point. Really impressive in the audio-visual department, though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Brilliant experience playing this. Top marks!
Is there any way to outlast the water supply?

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10am

A good theme game. I'm assuming you just always die and there is no other ending. The fact that you're actually a square was confusing to me at first though.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Beautiful game. I am really impressed with the atmosphere and overall setting. It made me think what would I do in a situation like this. Probably just cry in the corner a lot.:) Is there a possibility to survive? I would like to know.

Usually, I am very skeptic about minalistic pixel art, but in this case, it helps to build the immersive experience. Good way of telling a story.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Very fun! The art is amazing, I really love it, The "3d" effect is pretty nice too, I wonder what's the player and whats happening but love it. Maybe you can extend it to do more things like go to other rooms.

RyotaRaven55 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:17pm

This is really good :D

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Soooo... what DO people call blogs these days?

Also, thanks for making this! Great experience.
Would have loved to have an indicator as to how much water I had left instead of finding out only when I just drank the last one. Yeah, no, I didn't keep track myself.

May 5, 2014 @ 1:46am

I love how the music helps to creates the mood.

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Weird. I'm not quite sure I was meant to feel. It was a kind of blissful death, as opposed to the panic you would expect. Definitely a memorable mood piece with beauty in its audio and visuals. At times it moved kind of slowly -- maybe a bit more prose would help? -- but in some ways that pacing may have helped the mood. Plus, the general minimalism of it is quite appealing. Overall, a really fantastic entry. Well done!

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:44am

fun concept, love the little room graphics

SK16Games says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Love the art concept, and the classic music playing in the background. You really made me feel like I was in a bunker during a war... Very moody game :'D

Mike Mezhenin says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:22pm

So good!

iambored2006 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:27am

Very immersive. I wasn't sad when I died, but the whole experience felt very real, if that makes any sense.

iambored2006 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:08am

Hey! I mentioned your game in this post- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/18/10-games-that-resonated-with-me/ , along with some feedback. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]