Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Infiltrator

by HuvaaKoodia - Jam Entry

04/05/2014 00:55
----------------
A quick PostJam Web player version.
Not a lot has changed really.
The AI code has been cleaned up. It's a lot more reliable and predictable now (that is a good thing you know).

I also changed how interactions work.
Now you select the object to interact with (only doors atm) and then wait (space) to interact with it until the action is complete.

29/04/2014 23.45
----------------
Fixed a game breaking bug.
Added Linux, Mac and Web builds.
Changed the music player to play tracks in random order.

28/4/2014 05.00
---------------
I was a bit on the fence whether to take part or not.
Well, I ended up getting an idea on how to mildly subvert the rules, once again, and to do something useful on the side.

You see, the base code is from a team project I'm currently working on. As such using it was an easy way to save some time and a fine way to go through parts of the codebase both old and obscure written by me as well as others.

That turned out to be a bit of a time sink, to be honest, that I totally didn't need as I basically only worked a few hours over the weekend, thinking to myself: "This'll be a cake walk with all this code", and ended up putting the whole thing hastily together on the monday-tuesday night. Last minute shenanigans and all.

The AI is a bit wonky at the moment. I'll have to rewrite most of it to really get rid of that other project stuff and understand what is going on beneath the surface.

The most interesting part, in my opinion, is the map generator, which I did write myself.
It's a data driven random selector which is easy to modify via xml files.
All the files are in the Data folder. If your interested in this kinda stuff take a look, try to muck about.
(I didn't make a lot of maps for this version so help yourself)

----
Controls:
WASD/Arrows - Move
Space - Wait
LMB - Open Door
Move direction + E - Alternative Open Door
Esc - Escape!

Objective:
Evade the entities. Find the lift. Advance.

Tips:
-Wait a turn to become invisible.
-(AI bug) For some peculiar reason the AI's don't always spot and attack the player even if they should. Use that to your advantage before I fix it!

Credits:
Programming HuvaaKoodia (Mostly)
Audio: Erokia (https://www.freesound.org/people/Erokia/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#379Audio(Jam)3.04
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#563Innovation(Jam)2.60
#616Humor(Jam)1.82
#638Overall(Jam)2.70
#645Graphics(Jam)2.58
#649Fun(Jam)2.34
#733Theme(Jam)1.90

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Game it kind a OK. Movement are bit lagging, but you may polish it in the future. Also its a Unity game - make a web version, so more people can play it.

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

solid game when I understod the turnbased structure

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

really fun, reminded me of the older Metal Gear games a little bit. Adding some offensive capabilities would be awesome! My only gripe is that I got spotted by an enemy through a wall while invisible :P

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03pm

It takes a time to understod but then its fun! Very atmospheric. And the sound has a "Dune soundtrack" feel(the movie from the 80's)

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09am

nice quality. it would be nice a little sped up, overall a nice feel though

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Thanks for the positive comments everyone.

I intend to rewrite the AI code specifically for this game, now that I have a few holidays, hopefully ironing out all the kinks in the process.
I'll see what I can do about the lag and speed as well.

Whether I do any additional gameplay code is up in the air at the moment.

littleball says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:46pm

It did feel a little slow paced, but I like that game. Very cat and mouse, well done.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:02am

I like the calm music. The game is challenging and the gameplay is interesting although there should be an indication for when the turn ends cus its hard to notice. still its quite a good game.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:35am

Interesting game. Controls felt a bit unresponsive. Good audio contributes strongly to the mood. Nice work overall.

davidB says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:37pm

I like the graphics.

Oye Beto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:23pm

It's difficult to play when the input lags so much. I press the moving keys but it takes too long to respond

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Hi. Glad you had a tutorial level. Background sound was appropriate, quite unnerving whistle to it. Found second level impossible after getting stuck in room, doorway filled with aliens.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:22pm

was surprised by how this game made me feel - quite anxious to not be seen! perhaps because of the slow movement - suspenseful? at the same time the movement felt quite staggered and could maybe be smoother? the game seemed pretty hard!

May 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice game, but the turn based action comes across as a bit laggy, I guess some people didn't even get that... :) There might be ways to rework that, I just don't know how at the moment... Great choice of music, too!

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:43pm

I enjoyed the game, but wish I could see more of the map during gameplay. Maybe move the camera back some.

May 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

The music is so awesome!!! the gameplay feels a bit hard but its fun. Great work :D

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:28am

Concept is interesting, but something was missing for me to really enjoy it. I guess the rhythm is a bit to slow for me. I would like something more "fluent" it seems laggy every 3 steps :\
If you can improve that you definitively will have a good game in my opinion!

MokuJin says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Just a screen when the enemies move, to prevent the player to think the game is not responding.

Good game, remember Snake :)

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:48pm

The game feels a bit slow because of the wait before the aliens finish their move. That being said, the concept was interesting, and I quite liked it. Good job!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:52am

Nice entry. It did seem that there were too many enemies to really make progress, but perhaps I just wandered into a corner.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]