Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In Deep

by BlazeCell - Jam Entry

Programming: BlazeCell
3D Modeling: LeftHandedHero

INSTRUCTIONS:

Move with WASD or arrow keys.
Aim with mouse.
Fire with left-click.
Press ESC to exit the game.

UPDATE:

Hit detection now works.
The player can no longer go off screen.
Models have been updated.
The shark now animates.
The water has been optimized to load faster.
Ripple effects have been optimized and are no where near as CPU intensive.
Music and sounds have been added.
You can now win and lose the game.
A loading screen has been added.

Thank you all for your comments and feedback. It's awesome to see that you guys like this little game of ours =D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#238Graphics(Jam)3.71
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#664Overall(Jam)2.59
#665Fun(Jam)2.30
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very pretty game and a really cool idea. It would have been really fun with hit detection.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:24am

Really good start!

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:14am

Good start, you can still resubmit to make the game beatable.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:26am

Great start, love the ripple effects!

May 1, 2014 @ 6:27am

Loved the ripple, the way the boat turns wide and doesn't just flip around, and the life preserver was a nice touch.

BlazeCell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:53am

Thanks for comments. Really appreciate the feedback. We should be updating it in a couple days so that it's actually beatable and will have some sounds and animations.

angelk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:56am

The graphics are nice. When the whale comes back down and you're tracking his shadow for where to fire the harpoons, you might want to have something that prevents the player from just spamming the harpoon button; like a charge shot that does more damage if you time it correctly, etc.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:08am

Hey everyone, I'm the 3D artist working with BlazeCell. Thanks for the support :) As he mentioned, we'll be updating this in the next few days to make it closer to what we imagined.

This is our first time participating in Ludum Dare. Even though we didn't achieve what we wanted by the deadline it's really cool to see the other entries and get feedback on ours. Definitely looking forward to entering LD#30 as well :)

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:07am

As everyone has said, good start. A tight deadline always throws people for a loop. Game Jams are a great way to see what you need to focus on and re-work your organization methods.

Keep up the good work!

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:07am

DAT water! So pretty. Too bad it didn't have collision :(
Loved the movement of the boat.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:26am

Looks amazing
Finish it please :(

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Pretty nice

May 10, 2014 @ 10:24am

Hi everyone, the game is FINALLY UPDATED! Apologies for taking so long, we're still learning! It was a really challenging but fun experience and we hope you enjoy :)

We're open to making minor tweaks based on feedback if you have some.

May 10, 2014 @ 10:51am

Slick game. Well done. Took a bit to learn how to time the harpoon but it was fun to dodge and shoot and the water effects look nice.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]