Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Lies Beneath

by Stuffie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- What Lies Beneath --

Take on the role of Captain Golden Beard as you take control of his brand new contraption, The Grapple Hook.

Try and pull up treasures from the deep and make your pirate fortunes.

== Idling Controls ==
A - Sail Left
D - Sail Right
Space - Peek into the depths
Left Mouse - Unleash the Grapple

== Grappling Controls ==
A - Swing Left
D - Swing Right
Left Mouse - Slow the decent
Right Mouse - Abort the Grapple

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#50Graphics4.29
#92Theme3.89
#129Overall3.73
#207Humor3.10
#269Fun3.39
#272Innovation3.48
#449Mood3.11
#962Audio1.79

Comments

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Great! Beautiful graphics and the gameplay was fun! I spent a few grand on a $10 fish haha

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

Nice work Stuffie. Lovely, polished graphics, interesting concept and great level presentation (I love round world). Really tough if you mess up once, but I guess pirates tend to be cutthroat.

ssell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

Really like this. It reminds me of the grappling hook events from Wind Waker. Becomes impossible to not win immediately once you know about the Epic Diamond, but other than that the difficulty is good.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

Sorry but when I lauch the unity player, nothing happened when i click on the game :/

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Thanks guys, @ssell Yeah I was a bit inpsired by that :D, loved me some Wind Waker. @monaarc Hmm, I did experience this once during testing but thought it was fixed, seems to be a unity focus issue.

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Really fun to play and nice graphics too

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Wow, these Graphics are very fancy. It is fun to play and reminds me on this fish-iphone game :)

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Beautiful ! Maybe a little too hasardous but I have fun to play this :D. And god damn the Chest of Bananas ! X)

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very beautiful and the idea with the round planet is great.

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

"I spent a few grand on a $10" same for me :D
As the others said, the artwork and overall style are splendid. The grapple could use a better swinging though...

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Enjoyed the entry! Its graphics are pretty nice and it's really makes you want to go deeper to get the best items :)
Not having a time limit is cool, so you can plan your moves and take the risk (or not!).

Just one thing, when the boat is facing to the right, controls (A,D) are shifted and that's counter-intuitive. Add some music, you already have nice gameplay!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

At first I was like:
- TREASURE CHEST!
But then I was like:
- Wait... Bananas?!

Really sleek game.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Very polished graphics!

kamend says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I got some weird glitches, when I tried to play the game. I am on a Mac, no problem with other Unity based games.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

The balancing seems weird but concept and graphics are really nice.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very nice, amazing graphics, just misses a bit of sound!

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

I wish you had more conrol over the hook, but I might be missing something since I don't use a mouse (I'm on a windows tablet). Graphics are great, really charming

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Awesome visuals and great sense of humour. Just add some sound a couple more levels and you get a complete product.

colludium says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

I really enjoyed that. More success than I've had in the arcades...

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

I had some strange visual glitches on OSX using the web client. I also managed to get the diamond on my second hook which was super lucky!!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36am

Very nice. Enjoyed it much. Like camera effects, very polished and atmospheric.

friken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very nice indeed! I loved this one. But yeah, that diamond!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

I really like this idea, but the cost to send the hook down seems a little out of balance with the value of the goods you bring up. But I definitely think you have the start of something good here. I like the level of blurriness for the things under the water.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very fun! :D played 3 times great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45am

I like the gameplay and graphics =)

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Nice looking game. Great art. Very tough. Can't help but laugh when you blow thousands only to pull up something completely worthless. Cool idea.

taocayo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Funnily enough on my first play, second time using the grapple I got the diamond!. Clever use of the mechanics. The effects are quite polished and the graphics are beautiful.

The web version has artifacts on Safari + OSX 10.9.2. Luckily the native version worked just fine.

Nic V. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05am

Love the ability to look to the bottom of the ocean. There's something exciting about barely being able to make out what's down there.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22am

A very enjoyable game and nice graphics. The grapple swing doesn't seem quite right though.

pinion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Loved the graphics and the rotating world. I actually won on my first dive cause I picked up the diamond :D

monaarc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Good game, I finally played it :) I like so much the comments when you start the game... Very efficient game, great job !

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really solid and fun game! All I'm missing is a jaunty sailing tune :)

May 4, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Really neat idea AND implementation! Looks good, plays nicely and consequences are fair.
I'm a great fan of well-executed camera effects, so, kudos on that.
Would work great on mobile!

May 7, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Ohh, lovely :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]