Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

AntiMine 3000

by Doccrazy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: I uploaded version 1.1 that fixes some reported bugs. It is up to you which version you want to judge.
--------------------------------------------------------

Ever wondered where those lava fields come from that mysteriously appear below you when your inventory is filled with diamonds?

Take a trip beneath the surface, to the other side of the game, and find out!
--------------------------------------------------------

Instructions:
- The AI Miners are trying to get valuable ores. The bottom left shows what they are after now
- Your task is to stop them. Place hazardous blocks by selecting them from the top left and placing them in the world.
- You can't place blocks in the open. Try to lay traps and anticipate the miner's movements.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#181Humor3.19
#221Innovation3.56
#297Audio3.17
#332Theme3.52
#368Graphics3.45
#484Overall3.25
#514Mood3.03
#629Fun2.94

Comments

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

That's where the lava always comes from... :D

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

so funny! those puny humans always die in the lava!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:48am

I love the idea but for some reason when I run it the miners keep arbitrarily dying. Maybe from fall damage?

I really want to play

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice work! At first, I didn't really get what to do (I thought I had to control the miners), but after a while I got the hang of it. Commence slaughter!

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Lovely graphics ... nice job

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

The miners appear to be dying instantaneously in showers of colorful loot. Is that intentional? I'm not getting any points from it.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

Miner keeps dying on spawn..

Diamond Crow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

As the others have mentioned the miners die on spawn. No instructions clearly tell you how to play.

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

Sorry about the random death due to fall damage. The mechanic doesn't work too well but I had no more time to fix it.
Also there appears to be a scoring bug (you only get points from level 2 up).

I added instructions to the game description.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:48am

Let's go mine! they said, it will be fun! they said! Oh lava why. Pretty fun game! Love the fonts :o

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:05am

The poor miners, nooo! lol.

I can see where you wanted to take the game, and the execution isn't bad. Mood and graphics work.

Keep up the work!

Belvar says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Fun game with orginial gameplay. With some additions it could be even better. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]