Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Mountain

by JanGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How To Play
At the start of the game you have 30 seconds before the first wave of dragons start (After that every new wave is after 10 seconds), you need to build units (Units Tab) to survive the dragons and build your city (Building Tab). If all your units are destroyed the dragons will attack the city (If your city life reaches 0 you loose).

City Tab
Tells you the city life (when its gets to 0 you loose) the gold per second you are making and the dwarfs per second.

Units Tab
Lets you build units (The units appear on the right side of the screen with a name and a xNumber showing the number of units you have).
Every 1 second your units or the dragons will attack.
Melee Units (Low damage, moderate defence, high life): Dwarven Swordman, Dwarven Lancer, Mercenary Swordman, Dwarven Shield (No damage but a lot of life and defence)
Range Units (High damage, low defence, low life): Dwarven Archer, Dwarven Crossbowman, Mercenary Archer, Dwarven Catapult, Dwarven Balista.
Melee units are attacked first, starting with the Dwarven Shield and then the units in their respective order.

Buildings Tab
Mine: +1 To base gold production every upgrade.
House: +0.2 To dwarft "reproduction" every upgrade.
Wall: +10% To units defence.
Forge: +5% to gold and +5% units attack production every upgrade.

See help/hints in the game (H on the main menu) for hints and some help about gameplay.

Well this is my first ludum dare and the game didnt go as well as I planed, but at least I finish something. Something really unbalanced, with almost no graphics and no music/sound but at least its working and that enough for me :D.

This is Beneath the Mountain a Dwarven Mine Simulator (Inspired a lot by The Hobbit).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#880Innovation2.63
#939Theme2.74
#1010Fun2.46
#1016Humor1.69
#1079Overall2.59
#1128Mood2.20
#1238Graphics1.73

Comments

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Can you explain whats going on on this game? I'll come back to rate :) I clicked the buttons but nothing seems to be happening.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

A pretty ok dwarf simulator.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Pretty cool management game, works great. I always end up having way too many excess dwarves though haha.

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Enjoyed playing, seems very unfinished but i like the idea - and what is implemented is good, but probably too much idea for 48 hour gamejam.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I played this for an oddly long time, even though I think I was "ahead of the curve" after a little while. Good job, more events or things to add difficulty later on would be cool.

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I did the same thing on my first LD. All the game working in background but there wasn't much being shown on screen. I can see it's working though, and the most important is to learn from that. Also, the game could be a little faster.

Good job on your game.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I was a good idea

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25pm

It's all good, but i would like to see more graphics in here.
Good job!

JanGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07am

I added a how to play in the description. I hope it helps to understand the game.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Was confusing at first, but then things became a bit more obvious. It is pretty unbalanced; with the shield, a couple of catapults, and a couple of balistas, you're basically invincible.

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37am

got p. addicted to this. Was making around 6000g/s, had 300 of each unit, most upgrades cost about 10,000g when I figured I'd let the dragons take me :) http://i.imgur.com/CtGbNh2.jpg

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Good management game, works pretty well, but maybe it's a little too easy

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Nice game, but once I get a bunch of units and a good wall the challenge is essentially gone. The dragons just stay there about half a second and then go away.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Okay game/simulator for the time you had to make it.

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:16am

Very cool ideea, Good job.

frankd0331 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:45am

I did have to come back and read your instructions before I figured out what was happening, but I enjoyed it. I like micro-management games.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]