Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surf Ace Splashdown

by Dominator_101 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you play as a surfboard trying its hardest to knock the surf ace riding it into the ocean.

Certain obstacles will only damage the rider, while others will deal heavy damage to you, so basically you're trying to hit aerial obstacles while dodging the others.

Game lasts for 5 rounds. Each round, the obstacles increase in speed and spawn rate, and the guy gets more health.



Also, just in case the first link goes down, I have the web files on dropbox, so you can just download that and run locally.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#123Humor3.40
#570Audio2.76
#587Fun2.98
#588Theme3.23
#812Overall2.92
#851Mood2.66
#855Innovation2.66
#1023Graphics2.44

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

Good work! Original take on the theme, okay graphics, nice sounds! Keep it up!

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

OK, this time the Unity web engine worked, but only on Firefox.
You opening picture is great, also the take on the theme. And there's also a nice array of obstacles .
With the music it gives the game a nice old style arcade game feel.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Yeah, I don't know why the Unity player only works in Firefox...I might just release some other builds to download.

I'm glad you like the opening picture. It's probably the best piece of art I've ever made :P

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Hahaha, totally original and well done! (Surf-ace, I get it :) )

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

this was pretty enjoyable GG

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Well done ! I really enjoy playing it ! Congratulations :)

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

nice game! I like the humor, and the twist of being the board. The soundtrack was great. A little back story on the board would have been nice, because while it was in your comment, I read it as " you are a surfboardER". I spent a minute looking for the ace, haha.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

The gameplay was pretty good, but I wish there was a little more variation. The graphics could use some work, but the audio was good. The music fit the setting :)

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Never played as a surf board before. Fun take on the theme.

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

I like the idea that you don't play the surfer! Well done

João Kucera says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Well done!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I didn't get the sound.

Miltage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I loved this concept, very clever, gave me a good laugh. Solid game, I think your biggest setback is your graphics. Pick something a little more legible for your smaller font. For your title screen, that fancy font is awesome, but I struggled reading the smaller stuff. I see no fault with your audio and game play, great work there.

soulrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Enjoyable and humorous little game. The music is very.. soothing :D

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

I didn't read the description at first, so I had an 'aha' moment after I saw the surfboard moving around on it's own. I like it.

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I see what you did there.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Liked the idea of having to control the surf board instead of the guy. Especially funny when the guy has fallen off and you still move around. :)

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Nice instructions, nice controls, funny music, proper difficulty. Well Done! :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice idea. I like that you had to balance sacrificing your own health vs the surf ace's. Since your health aren't refreshed from level to level it all comes down to avoiding obstacles and only hitting the rocks and the seagulls, which, in my opinion, reduces the game to a standard "dodge the obstacles" game, since you can't really afford to hit the reefs and such. - But all in all a great idea, and a fun use of the theme!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Super idea it's really fun and original. Congrats!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Wow that was a really smooth game. I liked it.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Funny little game :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

HAha, I love how you play the board! And the graphics are charming! :)

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Honestly didn't look at the instructions before playing, once the actual objective dawned on me I was pleasantly surprised! nice twist

pkenney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

Cool concept! Liked the sense of humor, enjoyed that was both dodging and hitting things in the unusual contest.

Wished there a wave to ride though, I didn't really feel like I was surfing. I liked the little graphics touches you had, like the animated wave thing on the water's surface, and the chunks taken out of the surf board.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:42am

Great take on the theme. Didn't expect that :v

dook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Hehe awesome. You get one extra star just for the pun :P

Rialgar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I made a Let's Play of your game, see it here:
http://youtu.be/mdThmBtR7Pg

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Funny game with a nice original idea! Although it seems a little difficult with the Surf Ace always getting full energy. Only got to the third level but hopefully I'll beat it eventually. Really nice!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:07am

Web Unity link does not work for me(using firefox).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]