Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Longest Way Down

by fullmontis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A old style point-and-click adventure in an oniric world. Heavily inspired by the Dark Fall and Myst series. I highly encourage to use F11 to go to fullscreen mode. No sound cause I got lazy and didn't make it. I made a postcompo version with sounds and music and it's much better, check it out if you like the compo version.

TESTED ON IE 11, CHROME, FIREFOX. Use one of the mentioned browsers or there could be some visualization problems (for example on older IE versions). Cursors don't work on IE so Chrome or Firefox are the better choice.

30/04: Fixed a bug with the inventory
01/05: Added postcompo version (with music and sfx, yay!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#109Mood3.72
#158Graphics3.88
#293Theme3.57
#447Overall3.29
#587Fun2.98
#657Innovation2.92
#849Humor2.00
#1018Audio1.53

Comments

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

Really nice and well crafted experience.

Baknik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I'm a huge fan of vector graphics, and these were well done! Some background noise or music would definitely add to the mood.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I'm a great fan of these puzzle-y games. Love the mood as well. A bit of music would have made it even nicer

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Very nice artwork. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I like a good point and click game. Music would of course add to the experience.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

This is great! But it would have been even better with a bit of music :)

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice looking game. Fun with some point and click games :)

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

The graphics are gorgeous. And the whole thing feels quite polished for a compo game.

Would love to see music in a post-compo release.

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Very nice! It almost reminded me of the early Myst games at some points. Thanks for making this.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18am

Nice graphics. Subtle movements or animations would have been very lifting for this game. Good job!

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06am

Very well done. Good writing, and beautifully somber mood. I grew up on myst and riven, so this was like a bit of childhood for me. Good job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice atmosphere and enjoyed the writing, also nice to see a point and click adventure game. Music would also help but liked the art.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Great graphics... I was surprised and impressed by how much the ending, well, surprised me. In a single moment I suddenly understood the entirety of the alien scene on the hill, which had previously seemed merely unusual. Though I read all of the texts and thought I had gotten a hold of the situation, it soon became clear that I truly hadn't understood them.

That said, in a post-compo version it would be wonderful to see a more polished game with failure states and the like. I'm not sure I'm in agreement with the other users that full sound is necessary, but maybe some sound effects would do it? I remember that the lack of music in Myst really enhanced the isolating effect.

Anyway, great game, and thanks for the polished experience.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42am

The somewhat clumsy presentation together with the occult theme/narrative made this one quite surprisingly interesting! Good one...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice work, I didn't spot any spelling errors that break the immersion in so many other text-using LD-games ;-)

The missing music is really a shame, that would have made it so much better! It would also be much better if the hitboxes were not selectable (and the selection even draggable), but maybe this is just a Firefox issue. Selecting the eye is also hard sometimes, since the interaction with the tree-hitbox seems to be undefined.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nice visuals! Like others before me have said, it would be nice to have some audio. Great work!

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Wow, this is really amazing. The atmosphere is great, and the drawings are beautiful. Short but intense.
The technical aspects are interesting too. Using html elements instead of canvas is unsual, but it's well made.
Post-compo version is even better, really good job.

Airwaffle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:52pm

A nicely told story. A bit on the easy side, but that is understandable concidering the short time frame. Good work.

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:54pm

A really nice mood, a great experience.

Anoarith says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I loved the atmosphere *o*

TaoPhoenix says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

I am stuck. What are you supposed to do once you have the stuff from the underground room?

TaoPhoenix says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:48am

The controls feel a bit off to me. To get to the secret chamber in the tree I click over an inch to the side?! Going down is not the stairs but another inch above it?!

fullmontis says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:39pm

@TaoPhoenix What browser are you using?

Rabbits... says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:08pm

confusing, but very interesting, I found it to be enjoyable.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:20am

The atmosphere of this is really nice. It's impressive how much mood you managed to build without sound, but then again the creepy art style is really good and works wonders on this game.

However, I would have liked to have seen more on the puzzle/gameplay side of things. There are really only two "puzzles" in this game and neither are very difficult, but it looks like you were going for more of a storybook experience, which you succeeded at.

Speaking of story, reading through the scrolls & books was a bit too verbose for my tastes, and wasn't terribly engaging because of that. There was a lot of telling rather than showing. On the other hand, the setting and especially the ending do a great job of keeping things mysterious and subtle. I would have liked to have seen that degree of subtlety in the reading material, too, as I always prefer to be asking questions about a mysterious setting than having things told to me.

Still, great job overall! And nice job on the the post-compo version, too! The music and streamlined/improved graphics really do help.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]