Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pressure

by Nezzhil - Jam Entry

- Requeriments -

Web (with Unity Web Player)
Mouse

- The Game -

Hi Captain, we've assigned you with an emergency mission. Rescue the crew of one of our ships, recently sunken in enemy waters. His lives are

very valuable, so this mission has top priority.

You and your crew need to manage your resources very careful to arrive to the botton of the ocean and acomplish the mission. Be careful, you will

be in a very dangeous waters, so your lives will be in danger.

Goodluck, Captain.

- Credits -

Victor Perdomo Pastor (Programing and Scripting)
Ruben Dura Esquembre (Assistant programing and SFX editing)
Ruben Lozano Marhuenda (3D Assets and original soundtrack)
Antonio Perdomo Pastor (2D Assets and 3D Animations)

For SFX:
Freesound.org (sfx)

- Controls -
Left click

- Gameplay -

Your submarine have six rooms along with six men. They will be facing with threats and random events that will affect the rooms and the crew

inside them.
You can move between rooms doing left click on the chosen man's portrait or the room in the minimap.

Every men has this values:
Life: if the live is reduced to zero, that man will die and his position will be empty.
Stress: the stress will be increasing with every new thread or disasters like fire, inside the submarine. The more stress, the more time the crew

will be needed to do an order, and be free to do another.

Every room has:
Hull resistance: if the room's resistance is reduced to zero, the room will be useless. While this value is over zero, the room can be repaired by the

man appointed in that room.
Oxygen level: the oxygen level change the stress of the man in that room. If the oxygen is over 50% the stress will decay, by bellow that value the

stress will be increased.

Empty rooms:
If someone in the ship die, you can click in another member and then click in the free room to move him to the new location.

Threats and how survive:
The threats impact in the resistance and oxygen of the room, and the life and stress of the crew. So you need to follow these values very

carefully and order your men to work on the repair or actions needed to survive.
To do this, you need to use the button and tools inside the room by doing left click on the screen elements with a green border. Some threats are more

dangerous than others, they need more than one action to be defeated, like fire torpedoes more than one torpedo or increase the speed and make an

evasion move.
The members of the crew will help you with tips when something happens.


- Final words... -

Thanks to our family and friends for their support, and the Ludum Dare's organization and users for made this possible.

We are very tired after 72 hours of (funny) work, so excuse us for the typos :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#38Theme(Jam)3.92
#87Innovation(Jam)3.72
#152Mood(Jam)3.58
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#272Graphics(Jam)3.63
#275Audio(Jam)3.27
#332Fun(Jam)3.06
#417Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Took me a while to figure out what each room did. The game gets progressively difficult but did manage to finish it. The soundtrack had a really annoying beep though, only real downside i found.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

A very original game. It's difficult to understand at a first moment, but later its potential is very big. An interesting game, nice job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I like the games based on resources. Maybe a bit hard to understand in a first moment, but when i learned about how to play nice, become a great game! Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Wow ! Very impressive ! The artwork is amazing, the game is really nice. Great work :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Really intense game, brings you into it almost instantly, and has you thinking on your feet quickly.

Really great game

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice unique game! I like the multiple-control of players, just wish it was polished off a bit more! Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Hi. Your game is quite complicated to get to grips with, I know it's tough to hear but a small 2 room tutorial sub to get to try out the controls would have been lovely. Great sound and immersion!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Very nice, although it was hard to determine a good balance, I just felt like I was spamming repair and go faster, but I have no idea if that helped me finish faster!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

There's a lot going on at the same time sometimes, which makes this a bit daunting at first. But after you get used to that, this actually becomes a really fun, cool game!
It's also very original. :)

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I fixed a bug that makes the game so easy if you find it. Sorry guys, now the game is a bit harder. :)

DMinsky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice one, keeps in suspense)

Diamond Crow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:37am

An interesting game. Unfortunately it took some time to figure out which could be solved by a few GUI additions.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38am

Por los nombres os dejo el comentario en español, el juego esta muy bien una vez pillas la mecánica, pero quizá tardas mucho en hacerlo y el jugador tiene que poner algo de su parte para que esto suceda. Por lo demás, es muy buena idea ;)

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Cool game, I love the art and feel of the game. Took me awhile to figure out how to work the game, but I did make it to the bottom.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Quite a nice resource management game! Had some difficulties at first though, a short tutorial to get started would have helped a lot.

Gap says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:08am

Interesting game, the soundtrack should be toggleable, otherwise the soundtrack gets really really annoying (even in the first seconds).

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:21am

Great job, very atmospheric - there was a real sense of panic and confusion building as the game went on. Managed to get to the bottom but only just!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

I just pressed repair a lot of times and attack, cook a few times and won. Nice game, maybe a bit more screen shake;)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It has potential! Great visuals, vell done!

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Excellent sense of mood. I do agree with the other comments that a tutorial might be necessary - there's quite a bit going on, and the panic sets in right away. High marks for innovation and mood.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Great mood and cool idea. This game is really difficult to understand though. If you polished up the game with better instructions/help/tutorial, that could go a long way to making it more playable. Also, sometimes the dialog wouldn't fit on the screen correctly, and the language didn't make sense sometimes on the controls. I also have never heard of the word, "tripulation" which you use a lot. Not sure what that was supposed to be. I managed to make it all the way to the bottom on my first try, but largely I just used 'repair' and 'heal' and lost everyone but 1 of my crew! :D

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Thanks for your all your reviews.

We wanted to add a tutorial level, but the deadline of the LD was really tight. So we needed to discard some ideas. If we work in this game again, it will be the first thing that we would do.

@HybridMind:
The 'tripulation' word is now fixed and changed to the correct word, crew. It was a bad translation from the spanish caused by the fatigue. Sorry about that ^^U

jeffz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:20am

This is crazy. Well done!

Pitzik4 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:58pm

It took me a while to catch on to it, but once I did it was a lot of fun. It seemed like the control room was on fire more often than not, though!

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:51pm

40,409 - Thankfully the fire did not engulf my torpedoes

delfino says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Took me a couple tries to figure it out (I'm guessing the text at the beginning had info, it's hard to resist just clicking through a wall of text though). Nicely done! Good audio and graphics.

vitor.navarro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Great experience, I'm not the kind of guy that likes click games but hey this idea is quite nice and would fit in touch screens.

May 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Intense game! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

TobiasW says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:40am

I did manage to finish the game with 2 crew members barely alive - but I didn't have any idea what I was doing the whole time. Seriously. I kind of like the complexity and I'm sure I'd have fun with it once I figure out how everything works, but I don't know how.

What I did gather from it though: The mood is intense, and I really like the log terminal and how my team members tried to give me tips. The art and sound fits well too - all this creaking and tearing got me really anxious once I was near the end (of either my crew or my trip, haha).

A tip for future jams: If you make a game that is too complicated to be easily understood ingame, make a tutorial video after the jam and link it next to the "Web" link! It's not hard to do and it'll make the game much more accessible.

udo says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:06am

There's a lot for players to do in this game, it gets very stressful taking care of all the rooms just to make sure you don't get wiped out :) Well done!

Alex Rose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Starts off simple and gradually gets much, much harder. I really enjoyed how some rooms were really necessary like the fire putoutery place and the infirmary, so the hulls end up getting damaged there and blah blah. Suddenly in the last section it was like THIS HAS GONE FROM NOTHING TO MAYHEM IN LIKE 2 SECONDS.

Awesome. Also, how the heck has noone mentioned the Starfox reference yet? I was like "Lombardi?" and then suddenly realised all of them.

At first when faced with the wall of text instructions I was scared it was going to be overwhelming but it was really fine, and looked great. Especially interesting looking GUI for a Unity game.

Anyway, great going man. Nice one.

Oh I won btw :P .

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]