Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Golden Bean

by Greg Power - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sometimes you just want to kick back with your Golden Bean, y'know? Put on a song, spin around a little bit. But then a whole bunch of jerks want to ruin it for you.

Spin your home, defend your Bean.

Stay underground, keep on boppin'. ;)

Edit:

OH, I HAVE A NOTICE FOR YOU TO READ. If you're not getting any input in the webplayer, refresh the page, hit 'Always Allow', and refresh again. THANKS FOR TAKING NOTE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#17Audio4.13
#31Innovation4.15
#57Graphics4.26
#116Overall3.76
#179Humor3.20
#185Mood3.52
#248Fun3.42
#364Theme3.47

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Really hard, but really cool. This tiny environment is strange and beautiful like a journey in children's imagination. Thank you very much for this interesting concept ++

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

Indeed very hard, but I loved the weird record-rotation system and the general gameplay. Really atmospheric even if endless arena shooters aren't really my thing; the controlling system made the shooting much more interesting.

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

Really interesting concept. Took me a little while to get the hang of moving away from enemies by separating myself from the movement (jumping).

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Lovely concept, I love dynamic audio effects. There's a lot of depth to the gameplay that keeps it challenging and replayable. Great job!

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this. The music was excellent along with the sounds effects. You can tell a lot of time and effort when into this game within those 48 hours! Excellent work!!!! =)

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Fantastic concept. The audio is amazing. Web version wouldn't work for me.

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

very hard, I got 15 jerks. Art and music have a nice surreal quality.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

This is great fun! Very difficult to get used to, but really addicting. Fantastic job! I love how the audio distorts as it reverses back and forth. :)

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Not bad, but very hard to control

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

Man this is crazy hard :D But I like it.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Solid game, a bit of lag thought. Controls were manageble and innovative thought a bit challenging, i like it. :)

denvil says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice. Little hard but entertaining.

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Weird but hard! :)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Cool idea!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice game and concept! Very hard!

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

It's a neat game. Very unique, with nice graphics and cool sound. It's really difficult, but not to the point of not being fun.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

really really cool. love the sounds a graphics. I find it really hard to wrap my head around and I haven't managed above 6 bops yet. Really glad I saw this one though, one of the more unique jams I've played

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23am

cool mechanic, tough as hell. loved how you also moved the record, very nice touch

May 1, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice game! Had a good laugh.

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:00pm

My brain wasn't multidimensional enough to get good at this :(

May 4, 2014 @ 9:18am

Aww, lovely :)

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Mind-bendingly awesome! The controls are so confusing and clear at the same time and the audio is superb!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]