Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground Passage fight

by Phyyl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#630Graphics3.04
#1024Mood2.42
#1094Overall2.57
#1103Theme2.36
#1118Fun2.28
#1229Innovation1.88

Comments

Phyyl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Here's a little game, the first idea I had. I tried 3 different ideas during the event and decided to come back to this one because I felt more attachment to it.

In this game you have to complete the 6 waves of mobs. Pretty simple, not that original, but it was fun!

I had just enough time to finish A BIT of level design (if we could call that design haha). I also had an inventory system, shading support for lighting and a lot more that I could not use, lacking the time...

Overall, it was really cool and I'm looking forward to the next LD, where I'll probably be doing the jam with dome friends!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Fun little game! The difficulty curve is a little odd - I found the game pretty easy until the blue level, whereupon I died pretty quickly.

The use of Up to fire I found a little counter-intuitive - I kept wanting to press down to shoot down (a la Binding of isaac), but in the end I just held it down and spammed.

Nice little sprites and graphics, not a bad effort! :)

eastes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I completed the game! Took me a while t work out that up was fire. 5 starts for theme too.

Phyyl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

@eastes so far, you're the only one who finished it ! haha good job.

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Good job, nice game. I died in few seconds in the blue level.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

How about a 32 bit version? Why do people even do 64-bit only?!

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

I loved the way the levels got darker and more difficult the longer you went on. What I'd like to have seen is the ability to shoot in all four directions with arrow keys. It was very difficult to shoot and avoid bullets at the same time.

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Pressing up to shoot was weird, felt odd as for the first minute or so I though it would have smashTV style controls.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I think that the game is a bit too easy. But I like the graphics and had fun with it.

Phyyl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

@TheMorfeus It is compiled under x86 my friend, double checked it, and also I get a warning in Visual Studio when the target architecture is different from OpenTKLib.dll... which is always x86...

Frump says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18am

The shooting feels very unintuitive. I'd expect to be able to shoot in more than one direction. If only one direction then have a key that isn't an arrow key for shoot.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice game, challenging !

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Like the graphics, and it's quite fun and easy!

(But yes, use UP to shoot is not intuitive)

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10pm

"You have no option" made me laugh! Good work, blue level was crazy hard!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:00am

I agree that the difficulty level was really strange--for this kind of game, it's much easier to use the Binding of Isaac approach and steer with the keyboard, aim with the mouse. There were two levels with two enemies apiece, after which I was immediately plunged into two much more difficult levels... before then I'd been able to literally just sit in front of the enemies and hit them without dodging, chumping the damage.

A powerup system would have helped out a lot, I think, to break up the monotony a little. Or some kind of audio, or a slightly less removed camera angle.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Can't play windows games, can we get a web version?

Phyyl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:44pm

@jomomomo I don't use unity or anything that has web support, I might recompile for linux eventually, but what OS are you using? Not every game is for web sorry

May 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

After the first level, the gameplay got quite repetitive. I could beat the rest of the levels easily by circling around all the enemies and just shooting them a little while going around.

Nice sprites however, nice with some variety in the looks of enemies. Would have been nice if the enemies also acted differently.

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:33pm

The game works well, but it lacks some more gameplay elements to make it interesting. For now it's just grinding and everything is very simple, which makes it repetitive quite fast.

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:26am

Really liked the "Options" screen, and the general pixel art presentation was great. I would have loved some sound and in a perfect world, the ability to shoot in 4 directions whilst moving.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]