Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sea's Bounty

by jayemjee - Jam Entry

Help Brynn gather treasure and protect herself from the dangers of the deep!

My first real attempt at making a game in Unity. It's still missing a lot, but I hope you enjoy!

Code by jayemjee.
Artwork by Kildaver.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#401Theme(Jam)3.10
#539Graphics(Jam)2.93
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#622Fun(Jam)2.43
#648Overall(Jam)2.67
#652Mood(Jam)2.44
#677Innovation(Jam)2.27
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

Nice I beat it! I feel really fat when I'm carrying too much treasure LOL! This game also reminds me of an old Mario party game. Nice mermaid

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05am

The premise is okay for a sort of puzzle/platformy sort of game. The explanation of using your attack could be better.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

nice little game :)

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Not a bad attempt! I really like how the perspective of the platforms change, really nice feature :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Nice game. Would love to see it a bit more fleshed out :)

sirdorius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice model for the siren! a bit spartan, I think you should at least add something to let your players know if something happened hitting something, but at least it works perfectly!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Well done for going down the 3d route. Shame there wasn't any audio

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Good job for a first try :-) - The game was pretty basic, but decent graphics! - Sounds could really add some life to the game- Especially the "death/coin" explosion when you die, would be way cooler if there were sound involved.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Good try. With more polishing and time to develop, I'm sure that the game would be still better ;-)

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

I actually quite like the concept of slowing down as you have more treasure, especially with a time limit.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Good on you for making your first Unity game! Nice start. Having the treasure weigh you down is a cool idea, and the 3D models look pretty good too.

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Strange but cute. A little fuzzy, however.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Interesting idea with the encumberment mechanic. The attack direction seems sort of difficult to manipulate desirably - to aim at an enemy, you have to be moving at them, and this just makes it likelier you'll hit them. Great first attempt, though, keep up the good work!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The slowing down, if not controlled from a design perspective, can make the players want to stop playing, be careful. Either way, it took a bit of guts for going with the 2.5D route instead of full 2 D for a first game, I liked the model! Just some constructive criticism:

- The animation wasn't fluid at all, I could tell when it ended/restarted.

- A more fleshed out environment(rather than pure white maze) and audio would make the feel way more alive.

Anyway, you finished it, it works as you intended and that's a pretty big accomplishment on its own.

mattrified says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Not bad. I lost the first couple of times though because I didn't know where to return to, but the mechanic and idea are solid.

Slader16 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55am

I like the art, I wish there was some audio :/

May 4, 2014 @ 8:07am

Aww, this is lovely :D

Gameplay feels good too

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]