Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chrysalis Assassin

by TaleLore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
[WASD] = Movement
[Space] = Jump
[Left Shift] = Freeze Camera (Useful!)
[F] or [Left Click] = Evacuate Bowels
Note: On the web version there is a small chance that the controls will stop working the first time you try to evacuate bowels. If this occurs, tab out and back in.

Summary:
You play as a slinky caterpillar who has gone "Beneath the Surface" of a nearby chrysalis containing a menacing pupa! Work your way around the inside of the chrysalis in order to find a weapon and take the chrysalis for yourself.

Tip: Eat fruit by walking into it and shoot it out of your other end by evacuating your caterpillar bowels.

Game Development Stuff:
-Game made using Unity
-Sound effects made using bfxr
-Music generated with autotracker.py
-Art created in Blender and Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Humor3.50
#411Graphics3.39
#423Innovation3.25
#447Audio2.93
#603Overall3.14
#697Mood2.85
#700Fun2.86
#1129Theme2.29
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice use of Unity's physics! The poor guy gets stuck around sometime, but overall a nice entry. Thanks!

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

Wooow, should i buy some drugs before playing this game? :)

Quite good physics and charismatic animal.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Love the low-poly graphics :)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14am

Hee hee! What an awesome little character, and quite maneuverable as well.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I love the models and just the visual look in general. I had a lot of trouble with the difficulty but otherwise great work!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Darnit! I've never had this much trouble aiming a caterpillar's backside! :p Crazy little game and neat idea, decent visuals and audio too!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Really fun character and use of player physics!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Love the little caterpillar however I seemed to constantly keep getting him stuck in the environment leading to some hilarious stretched visuals!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Weird and quite funny. Am loving the graphics and the gameplay mechanics.

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Lol nice :) I like how you connected the player's body. It made for some funny physics. Nice graphics too :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Did I just eat a strawberry, bowel movement it out, and then re-eat it?

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Really loved the little wormy guy. Especially his eyes. EAT ALL THE STRAWBERRIES.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Fun little game! I love the fact the music is coming out of the caterpillar's butt, and the way the legs flail around is funny.

Akihidas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Loved the doofy face on the worm. Aiming into the basket was pretty hard, it might have been easier with better camera control. Really enjoyed it though :D

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Weirdly good fun! Caterpillar definitely gets up to some weird stuff in his travels, especially when his butt get stuck!

psychopsam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Great graphics and environment. The collision detection on dropping the strawberries in the bowl needs to be fixed as a lot just fall out. When I did finish dropping the tally to 0 nothing happened. Great work nonetheless.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

He does get stuck pretty often, but it was a lot of fun. Reminds me of the original Spyro game. Great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I like the wacky anesthetic of this. It reminds me of old brightly coloured platformers well done.

bentog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:11am

Great graphics and mechaincs, but the catterpilar kept getting stuck on the bowl, which made me give up. Also, why is the music a 3D sound with doppler effect and everything?

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Not really liking the music, but it was a fun game. The low poly graphics are nice.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I won, interesting game, pretty good level design. A little buggy though.

DraKlaW says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:59am

bottom caterpilar manevrability is horrible and there is some collision trouble with targets, but very good concept and fun over all !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]