Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Leak

by ashdnazg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(fixed version is without a bug that might prevent the game from running)

You play the captain of a submarine. (the soldier with the red bit).
As you have no idea what to do, you behave like every other officer would:
1) Shout orders!
2) See what happens.
3) Repeat.

Right click to move, numbers to shout, space to pause!
Orders can only be heard by soldiers in the same room as you are.

There is no end goal other than to stay alive, but try to:
1) Sink a ship (it should say "The enemy ship is sinking!")
2) Make the damn whale leave you.

Spoilers if you're lazy: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/204076271/spoilers.txt

You can tweak difficulty by changing the number of soldiers in the ini file.
===============================================================
If you post feedback (please post feedback) try your best to find points for improvement.
===============================================================
Thanks for playing the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Innovation3.70
#223Audio3.32
#271Humor2.94
#473Theme3.35
#505Fun3.08
#532Overall3.20
#655Mood2.89
#848Graphics2.70
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Pleasant background music, interesting concept, independent actors you can control only indirectly, and simple graphics. I love it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

At first I did not understand anything. Though after a while I got it. Then it became really fun! Good music, audio and stylish graphics.

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

It's a neat idea! I like the indirect controls.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cute entry. I felt quite bad for my little guys when the submarine was flooding and they were trying to stay alive for as long as possible. :P

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

I am so bad at this. I'm going to try a few more times, though. I have no meaningful feedback--sorry--except that maybe the rooms could be labeled by function.

ahnt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:16am

looks cool, I would love to play it, does it run on the OSX console?

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

If I understood you correctly, It's not a console game, it requires SDL2, so it should be compilable on OSX.

kivifreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Doesn't run out of the box on mac :/

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45am

I really like the concept here! With some development this could be a really cool game. As is, it's difficult to tell what your crew is doing, and there doesn't seem to be a lot of control over the simulation. I like the "ASCII" art style, though.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:07am

Really interesting game. I like the idea of it, and I enjoyed running around shouting commands. It took me a few times to get the hang of keeping track of all the text feedback. I would consider working the interface more so that the rooms are labeled, or workers give feedback on if they're following your orders or not. While the text/ascii aspect is neat, it sort of overwhelmed me on what I'm doing. It has really great potential though, and the audio was so pleasant hahaha.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:11am

I'm sorry Ashdnazg, I can't keep the promise I made in IRC. I like your game but if you want honesty here it is:

The music gets repetitive over time. I feel no sense of purpose in the game, there is only a random enemy sub and a humping whale. You should add a mission of some sorts, because submarines don't just terrorize other submarines infront of harbours. (or do they :X)

I'm impressed that you made this in 48 hours and salute you commander.

rxi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:52pm

http://i.imgur.com/uqcPYN1.png

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I died miserably the 3 games I played but I loved it. I really like this kind of simplistic graphis serving a complex gameplay. Sound was good too but I wish the shouting had a stronger impact (not on the gameplay, but on the player). I want to feel like I'm roaring at my men.
Also add some more content and it'll be brilliant, I'm sure.

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:34am

Very hectic! It took me a bit to get used to commanding my little dudes in order to make the text appear on my screen. I sank the enemy ship, but never encountered any whale, unless I did but didn't notice my encounter. I too would love some sort way to distinguish what each room does. You have made an interesting game that could be interesting with more polish. The voice work was top notch.

ashdnazg says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Thanks for playing and giving feedback, it seems I have made a complicated game with too little help for the player to understand what's going on. Well, you learn from your mistakes!

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:20am

Cool, I never controlled something I couldn't control before. Good idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]