Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prairieo

by Tater_hater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dive into the underground world of Prairieo as he chases a goblin that stole the princess! However be careful, women aren't always what they seem...
Follow me @Tater_Hater2
and special thanks to @Shocknights for html5 version
(note: web version may be slow on some browsers)
Also thanks to my friends for their music.
And dedicated to my wonderful Girlfriend (who is the opposite of the princess) for giving me this awesome idea
Controls:
Arrow Keys-movement
F-full screen
Space-replay game


PS: I DON'T HATE WOMEN. I'm not sexist, the game's concept is just a foil of most princess rescue games. Also the game's idea was my girlfriend's. So stop the hatin'
Thanks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Humor2.77
#704Audio2.48
#1133Mood2.19
#1144Theme2.24
#1174Fun2.12
#1208Graphics1.92
#1229Innovation1.88
#1247Overall2.08
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Fun!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

So much framing, and it almost crashed my web player, but for some reason that was hilarious haha.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Nice plateformer, unfortunately it's a little bit laggy for my pc.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

It doesn't run very nicely and the action and graphics need a lot of work.

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

So laggy...

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

well done, I still had fun with this and was determined to get to the princess lol, good job! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Props for putting it on steam!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

The lag in the HTML5 version is a bit of a killer, but despite this I had fun trying to catch that goblin. This really hits close to home as I've had to replace several princesses in the last month due to goblin (and occasional hobgoblin) snatch-n-grabs.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:05am

I was really surprised by the game's ending. I thought the twist was that the PRINCESS was going to be doing the kidnapping, but instead it turned out that the princess was a total bitch. This is really deep stuff. It takes a lot of courage to make a game that tells the world, "Women are stupid and like going to the mall." It's a nuanced understanding of gender dynamics in the twenty-first century deserving of a brilliant art game like the one on display here. Bravo.

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:57pm

"ugh you're so weird! I want food, gimme food"

So is the twist supposed to be that she has a digestive system and thinks it's weird that there's a sentient prairie dog running around on two legs? Props to your gf though, maybe she should have made this game.

Tater_hater says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:29am

@pancakecity Take a joke, its a FOIL of most princess rescue stories, don't need to go all feminist on me.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Is it possible to catch the bad guy?
Man I've been trying.

Also a bit laggy...

vilya says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I think using the space bar to restart the game is a bit confusing - I restarted the game a few times accidentally before I figured it out. I didn't manage to catch the goblin so I never saw the ending that other posts have been mentioning.

It feels a bit incomplete due to not having a title screen or any of those niceties, but I think the idea & the gameplay is sound.

SimianLogic says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Jump was super tall compared to everything else going on. Collision felt rough. Pretty simple, but good job for finishing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]