Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Topsail

by Devon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nothing really to play, but interesting to look at (shouldn't have gone to that Sox game!). Oh well, maybe I'll develop it a little more and put it in the jam instead.

Credit to http://www.openprocessing.org/sketch/5671 for help getting the iso-wave rendering started.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#350Graphics3.48
#519Innovation3.11
#1201Theme2.00
#1247Fun1.67
#1262Overall1.94
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

Know it was an uncompleted project, but it does in fact look pretty.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Pretty!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Amazing water!

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Very cool - could definitely lead onto to something with this.

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Nice effect at least.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10am

Man, that effect looks great. This could've been a cool concept. You should work on it more ;)

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Neat effect!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

This is a neat effect. This would be a pretty cool look-and-feel for a game.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

This is really quite neat. I hope you expand upon it (:

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Interesting wave engine.

Teesquared says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very cool looking. I challenged myself by just trying to keep the ship over water. Just add a timer and detect when the ship hits the rocks and ship it :)

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:11am

Cool water. I think you could still use this to make something neat.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Really like the look of it. Top water!

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:49am

This is definitely beautiful. Give it another shot!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]