Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hostile Planet

by rezoner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an astronaut equipped with a shovel. You have to dig for undefined items in order to achieve undefined goal!

Do not be afraid to die - I have made cool death animation and you will not have to start from the beginning.

The items are not marked on the view - you have to look at the distance counter and play the hot-and-cold game pretty much :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#24Audio4.07
#69Graphics4.20
#129Overall3.73
#166Mood3.56
#236Innovation3.54
#243Fun3.43
#260Humor2.96
#316Theme3.54

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

This one isn't as good as your last one but I like it. The gameplay is pretty unusual which I like. And, as always, this game is pretty.

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Don't really know how to find the items and you missed a translation there: It says "gefunden" in german instead of found in english.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

Really nice game but a little confused as to what the actual mechanics were. Played with it a little and slowly got to start playing. A bit short though. Well done!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Wonderful graphics! And the music is pretty cool as usual.

The gameplay on the other hand is a bit hard and not that fun (too slow maybe?)

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

Awesome !!!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

I like the aesthetics. there's something fun to the idea of space-shoveling. Would love to see a 3d exploration game in the same style.

ezolotko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Wow, this one is really good. The first one I completed this LD.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Very nice game, music and graphics!
Will it be Android port as usual? :D

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Wonderful! I thought the planet would rotate XD Nice game : )

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Very very nice. Really enjoyed playing this through to the end.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Great graphics and a quick and easy to grasp gameplay. Liked it a lot.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Liked the weird mix of English and broken German. It werfs flammen :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

One of the best I've played so far. Took me a while to figure out how to kill those spiders ;) Great job!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Enjoyed playing it. But those spiders are assholes. :)

Aron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice Musik and Grafik ;-)
I liked the fact the sice and perspective changes a little bit if you reach the border of the planet. Also very clever use of the environment to get rid of the aliens (imho the astronaut is the alien on that planet ;-) )

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

awesome! i loved the graphics and sounds - you forgot to fully translate the game into english, though :)

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Really nice graphics... It took me a while to realise what I have to do.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I feel like a german shepard on the moon :D Nice little puzzler

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I like how simple the controls are. Graphics are very good also

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice little game. Interesting visual style and i liked that i had to figure out how to get rid of the enemies.

Not really sure about the weird mix of english and german, but whatever. It werfs Flammen, i guess.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The graphics are pretty solid, lovely colors and cool filter.
The gameplay was refreshing and it was interesting to discover a way to deal with the aliens. The game feels too short though.
The music is the best for me of this entry :)

All in all a good game with an interesting concept.

yetanother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice music as usual, Nice graphics too.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Nice art and sound!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Super liked the music! But the game itself was a bit short. The death animation was cool too :p

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

I love the graphics on this. Original concept too. Nice!

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27am

This is lovely! Nice little puzzler.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50am

I really like the subtle triangular tiling of the planet. A simple yet fun game! :)

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

The pixel art, the animations, all the effects are awesome !
The music is really cool, too.
The game mechanics are quite simple (or I didn't understood them correctly), but it kept me entertained for a few minutes.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Lovely game :D. Everything is so good :D

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I really liked the graphics. Nice job :)

Muciojad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Superbly entry - as always ;) Music is so amazing, and your graphic, holy crap! ;] Jest moc ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Good job! I gave you plenty stars ^^ It was short but really great ! (and I love the music!)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52am

Nice unique mechanics! really liked that death anim!

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:07am

impressive again. I love it

Yword says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Really great music! I think it will be pretty cool if the player can move on a 3D planet.

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Awesome music! The game was really fun, and I found out I could get ready of those threats accidentally. XD
And those graphics!! That planet is so cool! And you even made things get smaller on the distance.

Great job!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

Nice art, impressive music! But damn that's hard when the worm starts coming out. Great entry!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice game, reminds me of the chocobo treasure hunt in FFIX :D The fact that you can get killed and have to restart from the beginning is quite annoying to be honest.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:46am

Delightful synth pump, the jaunty spaceperson with their dreadful Blood Face. Pushing spiders to Spider Deaths felt like a hero! I enjoyed Very Much the gentle picture that was my Victory Reward.

Beautiful Game Thing.

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Congratulations for the innovative game concept! I also liked how you emulated the retro game look by making the planet look like a low poly polyhedral. I think your stars effect for the background is somewhat broken though as stars seem to spawn more in the left corner than everywhere else.

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:44am

Guten tag!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:07am

Awesome music rezoner! (well this sentence is a pleonasm coming from you!)

I had issues figuring out how to play,
the first time I tried to go somewhere and tried to dig (with space), and I suddently teleport back to the original position.
However, if I just go in that place, it start digging after a time but I can't figure out where the items are and I have no feedback showing me if I'm doing the right thing.

So I think this game is great, graphics are incredible, but it needs a few polish on the gameplay.

Ithildin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Amazing music! The game mechanic is interesting too (that sandworm made me struggle for a good amount of retries >_<), and I love the retro graphics.

Congrats!! =)

SoupWithBits says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Awesome! :D

RetroEpic says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:09am

I didn't like that I was looking at the top left number instead of looking at your awesome art.

ripatti says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Haha, very nice entry! I like worm and black spiders. Well done!

BooleanByte says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Very good overall presentation, the game was enjoyable although i was a bit frustrated that I did not understand what the enemies did or how to avoid them at first, but I enjoyed overcoming that.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]