Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Guidance

by jadams - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Above the surface the squares follow arrows. Unfortunately some tiles are missing. Below the surface you, a very stylish circle, are tasked with pushing arrow tiles into the gaps to guide the squares across the board.

Time pressure means there is no in-game tutorial so here are the fundamentals:

Arrow keys move you around the level. For every step you take, the squares on the surface take 1/3 of a step. You have to push arrows around the level to provide direction to squares that pass on top of empty tiles.

Space toggles between the surface view (green) where the progress of the squares and location of gaps in their paths can be seen, and the underground view (orange) where you are pushing blocks around.

If you want the squares to advance without moving yourself (such as at the end of a puzzle when you're waiting for the squares to reach their exits) press 'w' to wait.

'u' goes back one step at a time and can rewind back all the way to the start of the level.
'r' resets the level back to its original state.
'm' quits the level and returns to the menu.

In the menu the up/down arrow keys scroll between levels and space starts a level.

Enjoy!

03/05/14 : Added a link to a copy of the game that includes an attempt at on screen buttons to control everything. It should work with both mouse and touch inputs (i.e. should work on mobile as well). I'm not certain if this counts as porting to another platform after the deadline. If you're here to rate the game (and have a keyboard) then please use the fist link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#128Innovation3.78
#398Overall3.33
#508Fun3.07
#774Theme3.00
#997Mood2.45
#1050Humor1.50
#1067Audio1.21
#1072Graphics2.33

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really neat puzzle idea! Well implemented!

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

very good idea! really took me quite some time to solve.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Good puzzle game, real challenge.

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Interesting idea, very original. I like the above and below view and the way they interact. Very challenging too.

hiiii5 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Very well designed and simplistic, art style hits it's point for this game because fancy art is unnecessary in this scenario. Only two downfalls are the lack of audio and a true tutorial which is in no way a true hindrance outside of the lack of audio, nice job.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Neat puzzle game. Needs more instruction at the beginning.

Crumpet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Right off the bat, the controls are a bit awkward. A lot of people are more comfortable with WASD, and from the outside, it looks like you have little to lose in mapping the movement controls to WASD as well as the arrow keys. While U is a memorable undo button, it suffers from being too far from any of the other keys you use. Might I suggest taking a look at Puzzlescript games' controls?

The mechanics imposed a set number of moves to solve a puzzle, which imposes a sense of every action mattering, a sense I had already begin to suspect the moment I saw it had an undo button (love the undo button, by the way). Whenever every move counts, it makes you really think several moves ahead, which honestly makes you feel rather clever whenever you solve a puzzle. Optimizing your solutions to squeeze out that final step too many is a nice feeling, one I quite appreciate.

Sadly, the graphics are lackluster, and there doesn't appear to be any audio (correct me if this is an issue on my end), and the font you've used for text clashes with the pixellated art style of the game. Making a game comprehensible with such a small colour palette is a noteworthy achievement, kudos for that.

I always prefer when the theme is implemented mechanically rather than through story, it makes the game feel far more tailored to the theme, rather than shoehorned in at the last moment.

Crumpet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Right off the bat, the controls are a bit awkward. A lot of people are more comfortable with WASD, and from the outside, it looks like you have little to lose in mapping the movement controls to WASD as well as the arrow keys. While U is a memorable undo button, it suffers from being too far from any of the other keys you use. Might I suggest taking a look at Puzzlescript games' controls?

The mechanics imposed a set number of moves to solve a puzzle, which imposes a sense of every action mattering, a sense I had already begin to suspect the moment I saw it had an undo button (love the undo button, by the way). Whenever every move counts, it makes you really think several moves ahead, which honestly makes you feel rather clever whenever you solve a puzzle. Optimizing your solutions to squeeze out that final step too many is a nice feeling, one I quite appreciate.

Sadly, the graphics are lackluster, and there doesn't appear to be any audio (correct me if this is an issue on my end), and the font you've used for text clashes with the pixellated art style of the game. Making a game comprehensible with such a small colour palette is a noteworthy achievement, kudos for that.

I always prefer when the theme is implemented mechanically rather than through story, it makes the game feel far more tailored to the theme, rather than shoehorned in at the last moment.

Congratulations!

Crumpet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Sorry for the double post :(

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Really nice puzzle game ! Maybe a a mobile app ? :D

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Very smart idea for a puzzle game! I liked it!:)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Nice concept, I've never played anything like it! With some soothing background music and some polish, this could make a great game! Keep it up!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Puzzles are simple but non-obvious. Really got my brain going.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

While puzzle games aren't really my type of game, I can tell that for people that enjoy them, its a fun game. Though you really should have an in-game tutorial, I had no clue what I was supposed to do at first. The graphics are kind of lacking, but not to the point where the game is a pain to look at.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

Really nice puzzles! Took me a while to make it through! Some of the levels were pretty easy, while others had me thinking they weren't even possible!

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52am

The last puzzle had me stumped, but the whole thing was a lot of fun to play.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great idea! Really makes you think in an interesting way. You should develop it further, if it worked with a mobile interface somehow that could be awesome. Good job!

maloki says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

Was not sure what to do at the start, but got deeply into it once I understood the mechanics. Love the puzzle concept & design! Simple yet effective in stumping the player. GJ!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

Cool game. Slick mechanics. Even though I kinda sucked at it I still wanted to keep playing. The sign of a great puzzle game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Interesting game, I am not sure that I understood it... I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

Fib says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

This is a really neat puzzle. I got stuck on level 4 and quit. If it was mouse based input and had music/sound then I would seriously play this. Very good job and awesome entry!

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I love the puzzle games that I'm seeing in ludum dare, and this one is the very best in innovation this far

Gap says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice puzzle game :) One point would be that I wouldn't be able to see any relation to the "Beneath the surface" theme without reading your description. Doesn't change the fact that it's a good game!

Belvar says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Really clever puzzles ! I really enjoyed solving those, even if I didn't make it to the end of the game.

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice puzzles. Was quite hard to figure out what I need to do.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]