Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Boom Boom Boom

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

Didn't get as much time as I'd hoped this Ludum Dare, only 1.5 days, but still happy with what we managed to make :D

We struggled to avoid the elephant in the room in regards to the theme (digging) and settled on 'infection' or 'beneath the skin' as our interpretation.

You have the ability to influence the poor souls who host your disease by making them sneeze and pass it to others. But be careful, when a host sneezes their infection decreases. So carefully time them for maximum effect!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Audio(Jam)3.79
#126Humor(Jam)3.32
#136Fun(Jam)3.44
#147Innovation(Jam)3.52
#178Mood(Jam)3.50
#333Overall(Jam)3.28
#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#697Theme(Jam)2.23
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07am

Very cool game, has nothing to do with the theme though.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

Glad you enjoyed it! We tried to avoid the more obvious interpretations of the theme and went for 'infection' or 'beneath the skin'. Perhaps we strayed a little too far? lol

alshirah says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Gross but fun

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

funny and hard (can we really end with only one guy?)

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:13pm

It's a very good gameplay! Audio super cool

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nothing to do with theme, but still a fun game. Very similar to the Infectonator series

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Cool mechanic! Didn't see the link to theme though :) Fun!

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very dark theme. Was fun to play though was able to win by clicking randomly! But good job!

pjchardt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:10am

Cool mechanic. I liked the fast paced nature but it seems straddled between fast reflexes and logic puzzle in a way that left me a bit overwhelmed. Definitely love the style!

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:47am

Pretty cool take on the theme. The music was great.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]