Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Another Fish in the Sea

by Hexadecima1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a fish that has one week of living left to complete a mysterious task. Arrow keys control fish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Humor2.53
#796Mood2.72
#803Theme2.96
#917Innovation2.58
#1016Overall2.69
#1034Graphics2.42
#1102Fun2.31
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

Not a bad attempt. Easy to play.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

This end. So mean !

ThingoStudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Going off the screen renders the game in SEIZURE VISION. The game supposedly lasts for a week, but you're alive for eight days rather than seven. And you never dig a specific pattern in the sand.

???

muumeroinen says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

Tragic :(

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I swam straight up and my fish contracted Palsey

Waterman7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Wait... what? Mysterious pattern indeed. Some diver will be totally confused when exploring the sea ground :D

andymar says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:08pm

What's with the rap thing at the end? The mood is nice, though. Poor fish!

Hempuli says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:07pm

The idea was interesting but I wasn't sure if the story was supposed to continue; I stopped after 8 or so days because nothing seemed to change between rounds. Also at times the day would end without letting me eat. Trying to leave the game area through the top of the screen caused some really cool stuttering effects! Overall I liked the concept.

ALobker says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Not really finished, but nice game. Also very easy to learn/play.

gre says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Hypnotic game. The rythm of the game is interesting but a bit too repetitive. Maybe some juicy effect/features could fix that to have a fully enjoyable game, also some audio.
Bug: The camera goes crazy if I go high.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Interesting. Aside from the camera losing it's mind if you swim to high, it was well made, but not particularly fun.

ninjacharlie says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Interesting game. I swam off screen, though, and the camera got really really shaky

Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]