Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SHARK

by tiffi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrowkeys + Space to start the game

Stay Alive! Eat! Lurk!

Java 1.7 required.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#54Fun3.86
#75Humor3.63
#215Mood3.47
#257Overall3.51
#445Innovation3.22
#457Audio2.91
#537Theme3.29
#841Graphics2.71

Comments

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Wuhuu sharky pixelart mister!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Fun game! I know sharks are a problem... but did we have to go with the nuclear option? The radiation alone is probably mutating all those babies long after the sharks are dead. :D

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

I couldn't play it ): I downloaded it but it just doesn't start. I have java installed

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

This was a lot of fun.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

I love sharks! :=)

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

Kill them all! Kill them! Kill! Great fun!

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

So cruel! But great fun!

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Looks damn raw and sometimes ugly (though some of the arts are great, e.g. the background, and the titlepic), but surprisingly fun!

I love such games that can surprise me. I promise that it has a goof affect on my rating! ;P

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Hahah! Awesome, 5 humor.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Really loved this one. Good humor.

neosam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

ROFL! Really funny :). Great Game!

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Fatal error on load, win7 x64/java x64 :<

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

man this girl seems to have a real problem with sharks. I wish the shark had a rocket launcher too.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Probably the best game I have seen so far it is very fun and addicting great graphics and sound. The mood is set just right with the music.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Very much fun... Addictive

icereci says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

After playing over 100 games in the last two days, I can say that this is my #1 for LD29.

Potartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

That was INSANE! The game play is simple but fun. I didn't think too much of it until the lady showed up and started bombing me. It only got more awesomely insane from there. My only gripes are that the visuals aren't great, and the sound that plays when eating a child is a bit too loud.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

I liked the different weapons that came with each wave and that you switched between being attached and attacking to heal (reminded me of Rampart for some reason). My only gripe was the machine gun attack, there was no pattern so it was very hard to dodge bullet and only once did I get through the line of fire without getting hit. My final score was 73.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:38am

Heh, pretty fun. I like how the attacks get combined later on. The machine gun is a nice challenge.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]