Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worm Simulator 2014: Ultimate Home Wrecker Edition

by MarsBar - Jam Entry

Controls:
W,A,S,D = Move
Tap Space = Jump (Hold = Fly this is a Known Bug)
Left Mouse Click = Dig

Caffeine Powered = Programmer
Mars Bar = Artist

Use the Standalone versions as the web build isn't as good

Game Objective(s):
Dig, Destroy, and Collect Fancy Hats! With Infinite Voxel Terrain for all your digging pleasure.

You play as a worm in this game, not just any worm though... a sand worm XD Caffeine Powered and I hope you enjoy it folks, I wish we had more of the remaining time to work on it, unfortunately we both had to work our full time day jobs :'(

Warning this game is a Very Buggy, as Caffeine Powered & I haven't had more than 48hrs to work on this 72hr project due to life and stuff.

Anyway, if you like this game please share it and rate it. Thanks!

Music acquired from http://incompetech.com/music/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#63Theme(Jam)3.84
#179Humor(Jam)3.11
#226Graphics(Jam)3.74
#305Innovation(Jam)3.16
#313Fun(Jam)3.09
#398Overall(Jam)3.16
#427Mood(Jam)2.97
#532Audio(Jam)2.61

Comments

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

Gargh! This game looks so good! Like Dune! Can't play it because I'm on linux though :(.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Fantastic, the only thing that bothered me was the buggy feeling of the worm and the appearing of houses out of nowhere.. Very nice work :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Can't help but smile. What an amazingly qwerky game.
Had to play it on low quality though as ultra crashed out :(

Also, can I recommend you upload in .zip as I'm not sure windows does .rar by default (I used 7zip to extract it).

Music was cool though :)

juaxix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

Nice use of the terravol plugin, also:
Bloom, SunShafts, AntialiasingAsPostEffect, Vignetting, Flares, dune worm model,etc...
So, you changed the textures for sand, add dune particles and set the skybox, add the model to the controller and the huts with a particle fx and a collider to pick them...but without any gameplay this is boring...you may try something like "Effing worms" or "Worm Madness" , since the sources are from different authors you are in time to complete gameplay and present it as a Jam entry ;)

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Probably the best hat simulator since team fortress 2.

It doesnt work very well as a game though

MarsBar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

@eldog This game idea was definitely inspired by the Sandworms of Arakkis and also those nasty Sarlacc's :) Also a Linux build is up as per your request :)

@Sam Oates Games thanks and great suggestions, the game has now been uploaded in a .zip :)

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Biggest flaw: I wasnt able to get a good view on my ~50 hats.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

fantastic! I feel like you really captured the nuances of the life of a worm

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Great! I love games where I can destroy everything, but where is the hunter. The worm has to eat;-)

eldog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

Thanks for the Linux build!

Was fun being a worm. I like the idea of exploring a huge desert.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

Great sense of speed, I felt like the smoke monster form lost. Movement of the worm was a bit floaty though, might be more interesting if it felt it had more weight.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:01am

Collecting hats does not make a lot of sense, but it is a good game nevertheless... I had problems returning to the surface... THAT IS HARD!

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice dynamic terrain generation and destruction! I like the animation on the worm, how the tail changes direction based on how you move. Nice model for the worm too.

I had the game crash a couple of times, I think once was because I used the high graphics setting and the other time was because I dug too deep.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Very cool, its amazing you guys were able to put this together that quickly! Infinite terrain and decent graphics, color me impressed.

voxel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45pm

This is 110% the best Shai Hulud hat sim I have ever seen. There are not enough stars on the vote form for how much fun this is

Quady14 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:59am

This game is literally sex. 100 out of 10.

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:42am

Game looks great but the hats look out of place. The digging felt smooth but the game would hitch often when moving to new areas. I kind of wish there were some type of objectives in the game. Reminds me of the old Tremors movies. I eventually got stuck in one of the buildings and couldn't destroy my way out of it.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

Heh, nice. I like how the tunnels carved themselves out irregularly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]