Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Derpy: the next gen dungeon crawler experience

by steamfiregamer - Jam Entry

Note : this is basically unfinished thanks to unity deleting the main level putting me back 6 hours so no optimization has really been done!

Im continuing the project and ive managed to re do the walls with blender as 3d models so it reduces lag from 5-23 fps to 60! .. i doubt i would be able to update the project to it so when i add some more stuff i may add a link here to it!

Version 1.3.1
Fixed oculus detection on Mobs
Bug still remain but if possible report them below and i should be able to fix them asap

Version 1.3
After unity deleting the map i managed to recreate it + a 2nd dungeon but i haven't managed to fix all oculus bugs so at the moment it only allows you to walk around if you are using the oculus.
If possible i will add fixes etc tomorrow

From one of the Devs of Yogscart

Removed Web player as not configured , Oculus Not required .. it dosent fully work yet so even if you have one its not finished.

Right Click to Attack! Scroll wheel to change weapon

The game is heavily unfinished but its my first entry .. perhaps i will continue the project and finish it properly!

Unfinished : Shop , end game & start game conditions , pause menu , Options menu , cheat system , Unlock system .. all due to time and also corruption!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

no download links?

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Uh-oh, it crashed chrome...I don't have an Oculus, would that be an issue?

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Awful amount of lag. I have a pretty decent Gaming PC (8-core 4.0GHz Processor, 32GB RAM, 4GB Video card etc) and I couldn't get more than 10fps on this.

Many bugs too, Randomly when -trying- to open a chest the music stopped. the little bug things? They were nasty. Cant kill 'em and they push you around. When the game's lagging this bad you cant tell where the hell they're taking you and all in all it was an unplayable experience.

If the lag issue were fixed I'd give this a rating, but I'll consider it un-runnable for now. LD rules state "Do not score unrunnable entries.".

Good luck!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Wow, looks beautiful! (Though I'm partial to voxels) Great lighting really brings it to life. Movement was much too slow (but maybe that was intentional for occulus, I'm not sure. I also wanted to look up and down, and struggled with the controls. With some fine tuning, you could have a really nice exploration game! Keep it up!

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

The game has some good Idéas but you realy need to polish it and optimize it.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Keep the hard work.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Thank you all for the nice comments , tips and bugs! JoshOS im not sure why your fps is that low mine runs at at least 20 and so does a friend of mines .. who uses a laptop.

NoahC_ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:36am

I've also got lag issues on my end which made it almost unplayable. I can tell a lot of effort went into making it, and for the time you had, a lot is clearly there. I look forward to hearing about your progress with it!

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:38am

Works very slow on my machine (CPU: 3 cores 2.1 GHz, GPU: ATI Radeon HD3600 series, RAM: 2 GB). About 5 FPS

May 18, 2014 @ 4:40pm

It reminds me of the Mine and Craft :D Great JOb! -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]