Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground

by f7f5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The evil Pepsi Consultant is conspiring to conquer the world. Your mission is to infiltrate his secret base, beneath the surface, and destroy everything.

The fate of the world rests on your shoulders!

(My apologies, I wrote this in a hurry just to have a text on my submission. Who needs a story in a shoot-em-up anyway? Isn't blasting things in a cave fun by itself?)

Anyway, just use the left and right arrow keys to move, up arrow to thrust upward, and if you need to go down, just let gravity do its job. Space to fire!

This game was made in 48h using Kate (text editor), ImpactJS, Inkscape, Gimp, jcgmusic, timidity, as3sfxr, audacity and red wine. Especially red wine. Firefox + Firebug, Chrome and, finally, Bitbucket for hosting.

This game is obviously influenced by Cybernoid and other ZX Spectrum games (I even used the original Spectrum pallete), but not nearly as good.

Updated 29-04: "Convertion" to Safari and IE - uploaded mp3 versions of all sound assets.

I noticed the game is sluggish on Safari. If that happens to you, please try Firefox or Chrome. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#558Fun3.00
#655Mood2.89
#786Audio2.29
#807Humor2.10
#876Overall2.86
#985Graphics2.51
#1073Theme2.43
#1076Innovation2.31

Comments

small trouble says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The idea is good, but the lack of music during gameplay brings it down a bit for me. I like the colour scheme as well.

deadarius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

You cannot just let this Pepsi Consultant go, huh? :D

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Not bad but the sound effects seemed to cut out after my first Game Over. Pretty fun though!

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I agree with small trouble. With this type of game, a small beat in the background makes the game. Overall, the helicopter feel is good. Maybe lessen the gravity pull on it a tad to make it more realistic. Good execution on everything else :)

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Very cool, good job! :)

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:09pm

This was a pretty cool game. Challenging and Addictive. At first I thought that it was like the well known helicopter game but it turned out to be its own unique style.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:35pm

after 10 minutes playing i remembered i needed to vote O.o, so addictive, graphics remember me to a nes game, I miss music, but I really enjoyed it :3

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:38pm

It's good, I like minimal graphic art like this

x1212 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

nice game!

Crefossus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:44pm

The difficulty needs to be tuned a little bit for having only 3 lives. Collision box could be a little smaller so you don't collide with transparent pixels.

Liked the sound when it was working.

It was super fun and got me to edit the javascript to add more lives so I could finally beat it! It was really rewarding when I finally beat it.

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:28pm

This is very hard but also pretty fun! I feel it's my own fault when i die, which is good =). Some of those rooms can be very quick to attack you the instant you enter though.. i missed being able to escape in panic to the previous room.

I like that you can choose between killing everything to be safe or try to dodge your way through.

Down key to fall a bit faster might be nice. It's fine without it really, but when you game over a lot and have to fall through a lot of rooms to get back to where you got to last time, it'd be nice to get there a little faster.

Both the title screen music and ingame sfx disappeared after a while. I liked it while it lasted though.

Didn't complete it, but i think i'll try again later!

madmaw says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Could do with infinite lives, my reactions aren't that good!

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:31am

Pretty good game! The lack of music seems a bit odd, but it's challenging and made me want to keep going!

May 4, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Some sounds would disappear after losing, but the level design is cool.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Tangential relation to the theme, but I think the game itself was pretty fun.

Sergraz says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Fun and challenging.

Moosefly says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Meh, gave up after getting to the room with two short laser walls and auto-targeting turrets after them. On my first playtrough I died to those short laser walls in the fourth(?) screen three times in a row :P. So yeah, not a fan of the control scheme, might've enjoyed it somewhat more were it not for that.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

praporomsk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:12am

Wow, so hardcore

May 18, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very nice and challenging game! Good job! Cool sound of destruction... :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]