Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smoke On The Water

by guardiancs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT 28/04 : THERE IS A AZERTY / QWERTY BUTTON NEXT TO THE PLAY BUTTON (It was there from the beginning, still people doesn't seems to use it =D). Thanks everyone for rating my game :)

You will need Java installed to run the game( it's a .jar )

You just have to double click.

It should work for Windows & Unix !

For Linux :

use your terminal to go into the folder ( cd /home/test/game for example ), then java -jar LD29.jar

Controls :
- ZQSD / WASD to move
- R to shoot

I know it's kind of hard. There are 3 level.

Obviously, my game need a lot of polish :)


Tools :

IDE : Eclipse
Engine : Slick2d
Level Design : Tiled Map Editor
Sound Effect : bfxr / Audacity
Main Music : otomata
Graphics : Paint.NET, Photoshop


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#417Theme3.42
#525Audio2.83
#743Graphics2.87
#754Overall2.97
#772Fun2.77
#1011Humor1.73
#1064Mood2.35
#1090Innovation2.27

Comments

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

I found the controls a bit difficult but cute pixel art though :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

As stated, a bit difficult controls, but good idea!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Yeah, I would rebind the controls if I were you, but I love everything else!

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

The color of the texts should be black or have an outline. I didn't notice the texts at first.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

needs a way to kill the enemies above the water!

guardiancs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback, it's much appreciated !

For those who complaints about the controls, I really hope you noticed the AZERTY / QWERTY button ( AZERTY Default ).

Thanks again !

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Worst controls even! :)
Please change to WSAD.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I changed the controls to QWERTY, which made you move with WASD and shoot with R. It worked great that way.

The game was a lot of fun and I loved the powerups, the different kinds of enemies and obstacles. Cool sound and pretty cool looking graphics. A great game IMO.

guardiancs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Thanks Strandmullen :)

People seems to don't understand :(

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Maybe dropping barrels that float up to damage boats. Graphics and audio are a bit simplistic, buit I'm sure you're aware :)

guardiancs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Hello TheExGenesis :)

Yes i'm fully aware, I'm just a pure coder who is bad at everything else :p

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Limiting the players bullets to 4 on screen feels kinda weird. Nice otherwise.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

(What's use of military submarine if it can't take down ship with torpedo?) Not really outstanding game but it's playable :)

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

i like the game

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

Very fun and challenging. It is not very convenient to use the R key to shoot (space, shift, or a key using the other hand would be better) but I got used after a while. Graphics and sound are good.

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31am

I don't really see much point in linking multiple downloads to the same thing, but meh I don't really care. The music is a strange combination of pleasant and annoying... it's weird. It's pretty hard, but not in a bad way.

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:23am

Not bad for a 48 hours. I understood what was going on and the graphics are simple and to the point. Controls felt a little off, but no real complaints.

Keep up the hard work!

jtpup0 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:57pm

a bit confusing at first but surprisingly fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]