Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Patty's Perilous Plunder 2: Patty's Revenge

by uRLgR3y - Jam Entry

Patty's seeking revenge. Help Patty retrieve his gold!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Innovation(Jam)3.58
#494Humor(Jam)2.26
#505Theme(Jam)2.88
#518Overall(Jam)2.96
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#647Audio(Jam)1.73
#696Mood(Jam)2.20
#711Graphics(Jam)2.25
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

Love the return of Patty ;)

Lack of music kinda killed the mood for me. I miss your catchy little tune from the previous PPP.

Kind of sucks that there comes a point where it's basically impossible to beat a level, but I guess that's part of the "race against the clock." Perhaps some kind of hard-coded level count-down timer might help prevent gamers from wasting their time on a level that can no longer be beaten (unless I'm missing something).

I feel like the pink snakes should have a "wake up radius" where they only start charging at you if you get near them, then if you get too far away they give up. Again, might make it too easy, but you could adjust for that in other ways.

I really dig the whole feeling of patty wandering around above but, meanwhile, "beneath the surface" all of his minions are trying as hard as they can to get deeper and deeper and underground. Very good interpretation and use of the theme.

Got to level 3 before dying. Gonna play some more later. I WILL BEAT THIS GAME (assuming it's beatable)

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Didn't work. Game didn't start first time. Second time, controls wouldn't work.

iMer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Same as TheZiggy
First time a blackscreen after pressing space and after reloadig it loaded the level, but i couldnt move around or anything

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

The game was a little confusing to me... Probably, you should explain the game mechanics better.

And it doesn't work on Firefox :-(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I like the game, but only works on chrome, I tried to play on firefox and opera first but didn't work.

blearn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Yeah it appears the reported bugs are in firefox; seems to work in chrome.

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I will look into the bug in Firefox. Thanks for the feedback.

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

It *should* be working in firefox now as well.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

This game is strangely addicting. Nice dual explore/tower defense mechanic. More polish on the graphics/sounds front and you could have a really nice game. Nice submit!

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I can confirm that it works in Firefox!
Cool mix of invasion / collection game, I managed to win!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

This is a weird mix of genres but somehow I find it pretty enjoyable! Got me playing for a while.
Some music could've improved it, tho. Nice gameplay!

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Cool idea. A reverse tower defence mixed with a adventure exploration game. lol neat :)

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:59am

Quite fun once I figured out what was going on! Liked having to keep track of what was going on underground at the same time as playing above ground.

magicdweedoo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:06am

this game rocks whens it coming out on 3ds!!!!!!

May 4, 2014 @ 3:08am

I was confused at first lol. Might want to add some tutorial to make the player understand on what they must doing :)

DraKlaW says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:23am

defense upgrade are overkill, it leak of some balance i think.
but good concept ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]