Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Club

by MidCry - Jam Entry

Ball Club is a two player game . where players must hit the opponent with their limited balls while they protect themselves from both opponent and wandered balls .

If game receive appropriate feedback ( as motivation for me ) , I'll work on single player mode and improving the core.

Video Link : https://youtu.be/icVKc9sZ1JE

Tools :
- Unity
- Visual Studio 2013 Express Edition
- Bfxr
- Paint.Net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#181Fun(Jam)3.32
#309Audio(Jam)3.19
#382Humor(Jam)2.53
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#431Innovation(Jam)2.87
#551Graphics(Jam)2.88
#561Mood(Jam)2.73
#700Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

gonna have to try this against an opponent sometime, seems like it'd be really fun

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Well designed game, fun to play, nice job.

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Wish I had someone to play this with: it loos like a lot of fun.

czery says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

Love that slo motion reply :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

Funky music, I love this idea. Local multiplayer for the win, nice job!

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Nice sounding game, but i'm not sure what this has to do with the theme.

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice gameplay. Graphic is like Mario. :D

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice job. Fun, simple, great audio. Great start!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice fun game, remings me a lot to "Towerfall". I also made a multiplayer-only game.

xerohuang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

I can't find someone to play with me now but I think it would be fun! Nice game!

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

I love multiplayer one screen games, unfortunately the controls didn't work for me as i use dvorak and switching to the standard layout didn't help :(
But good choice of music and nice retro style, keep up the good work!

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53am

Gotta love local multiplayer! Fun times were had with those powerups.

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Solo player too, but I think it would be fun with another. Wondering if it would be better if you could catch your own balls - but hard to tell without actually playing against someone!

MidCry says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:06pm

@GarethIW : Actually i did think of some kind of ball catching mechanic , but lake of time won't allow me to implement that.
Thanks a lot for feedback ... Definitely going to take this prototype further ...

SuperDisk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I can't rate, but I highly recommend against using that Incomptech music. It's so overdone by just about everybody that I can recognize any Kevin MacLeod piece on sight.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:12am

Haha, I actually got to play it with a friend, and it's fun! I like it...ehem, WE liked it!

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:50am

The music is so jovial! Reminds me of Towerfall Ascension. I really like that the balls are persistent and create obstacles to maneuver around.

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice concept. Very cool slow motion on dead.

rojo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:38am

Hey, seems like a fun concept. The sound was pretty good. I decided not to rate the game in a couple categories since I haven't played it multiplayer and gotten the intended experience.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]