Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

High Hopes

by DesignerNap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

High hopes is a game about looking under the surface. Not just physically by using the metal detector to find what you can, but emotionally. Under the surface, people can get dragged down by apathy, boredom, negative comments and lack of support. Sometimes the only way to succeed is to look under the surface and try to understand what people are really feeling and thinking.

The aim of the game is to stay positive, focus the energy into something productive and learn to convert negativity into positivity.



Controls are WASD and Mouse. Tutorial in game should explain most things.


Had a few requests for a playthrough vid so I made one quickly. Link is below. it's a bit choppy in places due to the machine I used but you can see parts of the game in motion.

Seen a couple of crashes with the game after people collect the metal detector and go straight into the garden. I haven't been able to repro this so if you get this happen, I would love to see the error code!

TOP TIPS -

Try using devices on other things than they were meant for

Building the object helps keep your negativity down

if only there was a way to see under the surface to what the grumpos on the sofa really think...

SWITCH BETWEEN DEVICES with 1 2 3 and 4 on keyboard.


THIRD UPDATE - 29/04 - FIXED THE CRASH! also discovered the bug stopping the mud patches dropping was a single tick box. Fixed and uploaded, link updated. Apologies to those who experienced the crash.

Please enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#225Mood3.45
#280Humor2.92
#347Audio3.09
#457Graphics3.31
#544Overall3.19
#638Innovation2.94
#731Fun2.83
#733Theme3.06

Comments

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I'm glad I finally figured it out. You had to click on one of the people to play. Maybe I missed something. Other than that this game was decent. How were the graphics done?

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I drew the characters and objects by hand/mouse in photoshop. The floor textures, I took photos of the ground around my house and applied filters to make them look cartoony :) Thanks for the feedback though! I perhaps need to make the splash screen more obvious...

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice game.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Good ambiance and good graphics. Well Done.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Thanks Zolkren and MSaul :)

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

This is really complex for a game made in 48 hours. I really like the style of this game. Everything about it has a lot of style. I like how the graphics are good and bad at the same time, but in a good way haha if that makes sense. Good job :)

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Interesting concept, a little strange.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50am

The head was not turn with the body, which I found a bit creepy. The message behind is game is great!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

For some reason I don't have permission to go into your google drive to play the game but I watched the YouTube video and gave it ratings based on that. Loved the graphics and the sounds.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Fixed a crash late last night and re-uploaded it... I appear to have the settings on google docs to private though... have added the original for the moment until I can get to address it.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

I got the crash before seeing your message about wanting the error code! Sorry about that. However, yeah this game is really interesting and frankly any game that requires you to go round finding cups of tea to feel better is basically a game about my entire life so thanks :)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Interesting game. Took me a while to find how to start it (thanks to Jason for the first comment). Also took a while to figure out that you have to mind the red bar. I'm not entirely sure what it represents but I know you have to keep it low or you get an ending (good or bad based on whether you've accomplished your goal).
I still don't know what the blue one does, it rises when I drink coffee and cut bushes and lowers when repairing but doesn't seem to have any effect whatsoever.
It is a little confusing and the tutorial didn't teach me what I really needed to know (I could have figured the controls), but the game was good and fulfilling in its own way.

PS: Scroll wheel would be good for the tool switch

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

This has a unique mood to it, I like it!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Thanks for the detailed feedback SuperIzzo, yes I wasnt clear enough communicating the bar info... the red one is negativity and the green one is positivity. The aim of the game is to convert the bad into good by focussing on tasks and there is always tea to support you. Kicking the ball helps too. Not many people have managed to complete it and get the "good ending" but there are actually four endings to the game! :D Thanks for the heads up hexagore, I think I have managed to locate the bug now. will take a look at a fix tonight. and thanks tripleVisionGames! I had fun making it :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Thanks Thorig, eteeski and Lucariatias too! :D

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31am

Noooo I don't wanna work at BoreCo! Very interesting game, good work!

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:40pm

i liked the art

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Interesting concept, really liked this :)

DesignerNap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Thanks Crazi456, Cheesepencil and Ragzouken! I have had very few people complete the game so I think I made the timers a little too hard. And thanks for the kind art comments. I kinda just throw the art together so it is cool to get some appreciation for it. :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:41am

What terrible parents haha. I think the negativity meter was a bit too harsh, I didn't know what to do right away so I ended up losing twice before figuring anything out. Also, the collision detection was pretty bad :/ That said, I think this game is really freakin' creative and thoroughly enjoyed playing it! Great job!

DesignerNap says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Thanks DrPrettyPatty! and totally agree on the collision detection. I have never quite managed to get gamemakers collision to feel right on a top down game. One day though... ;)

May 15, 2014 @ 5:15pm

A bit hard to figure out what I had to do. I don't think the red bar was actually necessary, it just added stress and forced the player to restart a lot if using too much time. Good amount of content though, and it had a nice mood to it actually.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]