Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Defence

by Aske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So it's 3:30am and I'm REALLY tired, but I'm releaved to have completed my 3rd LD:

Surface Defence

Controls:
Z: Turret (shoots enemies)
X: Fishing hut (makes money if there is fish)
C: Observatory (produces science, that accelerates the construction of the shuttle)
Space: Place building ( sorry for no left click..)
Shift: Delete building

Gameplay:
- The goal is to fill up the blue science bar and escape earth. This can be achieved via defending the island from the evil from beneath the surface.
- But thing cost money; Fishing huts only generate money if there is fish on the local island (Represented by green bar).
- Observatories produces more science per second.

Known bugs:
- title menu won't start the game until you have looked at the help screen.
- the game uses "setInterval()" to spawn monsters, witch runs on actual time, but the turrets does things every frame. If you have a laggy computer, this results in the turrets shooting slower than the game spawn the monsters and it's unlikely for you to win the game :(

Please comment! :)

And as always: HAVE FUN!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#508Fun3.07
#536Graphics3.19
#719Humor2.21
#745Overall2.98
#878Mood2.63
#925Innovation2.57
#1004Audio1.63
#1053Theme2.47

Comments

SK16Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

woop woop very nice ;)

alshirah says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Need time to master the control. cool game

Zerod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Nice Game

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Fun tower defense with some income mechanics. I think that it has a lot of potential with different level designs and more towers.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

This was fun! A little on the easy side, but good job!

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Liked how the lighthouses shoot laserbeams.

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

fun game quite lovecraftian. Could do with more towers and islands but possibly out of scope for 48 hours.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

strange controls and was weird that money income was not dependent on enemies shot. I just build turrets at start and had no money for money generator, was weird
also game becomes very laggy when there many enemies on screen

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Took me five tries to beat it and it was very close. Fun and good level of difficulty

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Why do you hate mouse buttons? having to build resource gatherers is an interesting twist on the tower defence formulae!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Good tower defense dude :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Solid td!

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

Simple but fun. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

It's a shame that you can't get money without building those things. I started by building two turrets and immediately had no way of gaining money except for selling both (!) those turrets again, leaving me defenceless... That should not be possible, imo...
The game looks really nice though! And you've got some fun mechanics in there :D

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Fun! Easy, but I felt compelled to see it through to the end.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Very cool, I would love to see this made into a full game!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41pm

great game! would love to see it with some more features!

Boberro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I like it, it has a lot of potential.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:26pm

good work (- : had fun escaping the world : D
hope to see more games from you in the future!

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Need more levels. Well done.

Martin Ysa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:17pm

nice!

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

It's okay.
Controls were confusing at first, but easy enough to figure out. The main menu was kinda unresponsive.
There's just not that much to figure out. Build a tower, then a bunch of fishing huts, then two more towers and upgrade your towers whenever you get enough money.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

The graphics are really cool (:

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Play my game again!!!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The objects remain on screen even when you die; this looks sort of silly when you lose. Otherwise it's a pretty fun tower defense game.

JimmyBoh says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Really great game! I think it was too easy (1 fishing, 2 turrets then observatories ASAP), but it's a great base to start from. More islands, shorter ranged turrets, and more tower types would make this a game worth paying for.

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:26am

really nice concept! i loved the mechanic and can totally see this being blown out into something bigger, but still kept nice and simple as you have it. congrats!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:08pm

good job!
keep doing these little games!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]