Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ray Hey Hey

by shotiris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey hey! Ray is a ray. He likes fish and swimming and star things. Guide him to the fish at the end of the level, don't hit the big rocks or crabs. WASD-ULDR.

*If you have trouble "aiming" Ray, think of 9 tracks along the direction axis. Like this:
012
345
678
Most of the stuff is right in the center at 4, sometimes though at the corners 1,2 or 6,8 etc.

This year I've gone for a very literal interpretation and traditional gameplay, so nothing like last years Potato Lotion Dilemma :D

Started 3 hours late, had 10 hours sleep... also got a little tipsy and jerked around a lot on day one, so maybe 30 hours tops. ShiVa3D!

Web version read this: You can download a flash version from the Web link, but the ocean will fail. Game is still playable. Shiva Web player version (from same link) will work fine as long as you have the player installed.

Linux version: untested. You'll need the openAL package to run.

Updated, now with Mac version.

If a desktop version doesn't run and you'd like to leave a comment, please also leave your OS, processor type & video card makes.

Applications: ShiVa3D, Blender, MuTools and BFXR.

Playthrough of the level, if the port you're trying to play doesn't look like this, please comment: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgFSG57rkc4

Enjoy!
-Emmanuel
http://www.shotiris.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#172Graphics3.84
#284Humor2.91
#342Audio3.10
#356Mood3.21
#358Fun3.27
#450Theme3.38
#459Overall3.27
#823Innovation2.70

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

The graphics confused me a bit but I prevailed as a weiner nonetheless.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

It was very visually appealing. Good response when you hit a star, nice trails from the fins, the water effects looked; overall it was very pretty. The gameplay was a bit flat though, and it was hard to tell if you were going to actually hit things some times.

nhmllr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Wow this is actually really well polished!

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

You the real weiner! Awesome game, lots of fun to play and a great sense of humor to boot! :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

The wiener is you! Nice job, although I had hard time aiming...

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

So, I don't know if there was something wrong, but controls felt completely unresponsive. I literally felt like I was watching a video of someone else play... Groovy audio though.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22am

I thought the music was pretty obnoxious, and the camera was confusing, but a very nice looking game

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

That was fun! The graphics reminded me of 90s/00s arcade games in a good good way :)

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

The controls were pretty hard to get the hang of, but the game looks really cinematic.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Pretty cool

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

Really nice graphical polish, would've liked to see some challenge in the gameplay though.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

Humor and mood - that's when I need 6 stars rating :D
Controls made my life a little bit difficult, because of the camera position it was a little bit hard to guess where Ray is going.

If I were to describe this game with one word, that would be "Funk".

Naouak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Seems that water surface didn' t work on my Surface Pro 2. It was white.
The camera is hard top understand and I had a big problem getting aligned with the stars. Deepth is hard to calculate.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

That title screen is rad. The game broke after hitting start on the mac port, so I just reloaded and hung out on the title screen, letting it wash over me.

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

Is anyone else having troubles unzipping the windows version?

shotiris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

Thanks for the comments all.

Ivan, just dl'd the win version, no trouble unzipping.

Conormn sorry the mac port is breaking, what's the model? You could try shiva web player from the web link if you want.

Malmazuke I'm sorry you didn't like the music. It was made in 20 minutes. Something is better than nothing, *hint hint*. And I like it :)

Sorry to everyone having aiming difficulty, i've updated the description to give a little help with it. I have no trouble at all, I guess I know where the track goes.

Difficulty: there were supposed to be more tracks, ran out of time.

Whalebot: "completely unresponsive" it's a ray not a fighter jet... maybe there is something wrong with the binary on your machine, maybe not. Feels nice and floaty to me.

Thanks again! I appreciate all the feedback.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11am

Now, let's see. This is what I feel while playing this game. The camera is terrible. I didn't even knew that my character was that ray till like 1 minute later. Actually I didn't even noticed her existence until there.

Graphics and sound, I like them both. They're nice. The vibe that comes from all that, I like it.

So, that's it. For me this game gets a little bit ruined because of that camera.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45am

Nice graphics for only having 48 hours!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

Fun and great! Good game

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

I can't rate it, It performed very badly (1-2fps) and then I got a black screen. I'll try again from home later.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

pretty

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

i like it, plays pretty smooth, funky cool music dude

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

Main menu states that the controls are ASDW but had to go with cursor keys. Was a bit confusing at first until I realized I was the manta. After a bit of playing I pressed Space (just to see if that did anything) and the screen went black. This things aside, I think this is a nice game. Thanks for making it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Good game. Simple concept but follows the theme well. Enjoyable and looks good.

Good work.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

Really well polished! It's a nice variation of the inifinite runner genre and it fits the theme. I like the ray model, it's a really good job overall!
I'm the wiener!!! Yeah!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

11/10 !!!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Very well polished. Nice sound and sense of humor. Get only 102 points and became a weiner ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I loved the atmosphere! Really great work.

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

well done :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

A weird game.
A lot of colors and other fun stuff.

I kinda wake up when I play it!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Really nice! Good work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]