Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Warranty

by kidder - Jam Entry

Under Warranty

A game about an old man and his robots.

The game is controlled exclusively via mouse input. Controls are mostly explained through in-game prompts.

Bunker View
-Right click on robots to edit their chassis.
-Left click on robots to harvest mission rewards.

Chassis View
-Left click to grab parts and move them around; click again to release.
-Right click to rotate parts.
-The wrench tool currently isn't useful for anything.

Progress ends somewhat abruptly after you discover the armory - there's a lot of of content in various states of completion that never got integrated. Such is the way of game jams.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#74Innovation(Jam)3.76
#118Mood(Jam)3.69
#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#265Humor(Jam)2.83
#293Theme(Jam)3.31
#411Fun(Jam)2.94
#583Audio(Jam)2.33

Comments

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

You've established nice mood in the game.
There is a lot of text, I wish the font was chosed better, because it is really hard to read :(

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very cool - a bit tedious and as KumoKairo mentioned, the user interface, while it does have a distinct "feel", could have been better optimized for human players' eyes :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

Kinda hard to read. There seems like there is a big learning curve and a lot of experimentation. Very creative!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

Interesting use of the theme, like the others said it was tough to read at times but the idea was cool and would probably play something like this if it were expanded upon.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

Quite pretty and I really like the idea, but I got stuck without realizing that that it wasn't quite finished. I would love to see it expanded into a full game.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

Nice game:), I really like the art(: Gameplay is interesting, quite complex for a jam game:)

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Awesome visual style and theme - and I love the idea of building the robots, although that doesn't seem to have been fleshed out much yet. The controls were a bit buggy and unclear, and there wasn't much content, but it has a lot of promise

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

I love this one! I'll play this later when I have more time!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

Nice art, the font was hard to read though. I got stuck because I ran out of electricity, without realizing that its not finished. I wish there was more. Still good though :D

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

Great start! Would love to see more in the future.

kidder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Exported a new version that's a bit bigger - should help a bit with the font/reading issues!

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

Neat game! It did take me forever to see that green button (still not sure what it says!) because of the Unity "Development Build" watermark. But once I figured that out, it all made sense.

My only real suggestion would be to add some blurb about who is doing the talking :) it was a little confusing to follow the dialog at times. Great interpretation of the theme though!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

I really love this gameplay style, I just wish there were more things to do! And yes, the font is really hard to read xD

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Amazing :D I can't believe that was created in 48 hours! Great mood, super interesting setting. It feels like a full game. My only complaints are that it's hard to know who's talking in the dialog boxes, and some things aren't well explained. I found myself clicking around randomly a lot until I got stuff working. With a little bit of polish and playtesting to work out the parts that are a little bit confusing, this could be a great game :)

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09am

A lot of fun! Best design today.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57am

Just fantastic!
Nice style and real good mood!

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Well you weren't kidding about it ending suddenly...
It definitely has potential, but would need more interesting+challenging abilities/robots than just "charge battery, get stuff, repeat".

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Please continue working on this! I love the whole concept of playing an old man who sends his robots off to do things. And the writing is top-notch, too! Combined with the gorgeous graphics this really made my day. Would pay for a finished version of this.

Shivur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Promising game. Wish the progress didn't end at armory.

gwa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice moode and I like Linuxe ;)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:26pm

like the mood, ptetty nice enrty! congrats!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I like your take on the theme with this one - I don't think I've seen any other robot-fixing games yet. I love the atmosphere as well. Slick presentation all round. Nice job!

robcozzens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Pretty sweet.
And very cool idea.

May 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Well this is marvellous :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]