Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zems Online CCG - Beneath the Sea Edition!

by Exeneva - Jam Entry

A board game/card game hybrid that features a single player vs AI (with built-in tutorial mode). Note that some of the card abilities were unable to be implemented so they'll just be basic creatures when you play them.

You play as Gareth, commander of the human legion against a merfolk race that lives, well, beneath the sea! Who will prevail - the dryfolk or the sea-dwellers?

Built in Unity using an early version of TCG Maker, an upcoming asset store kit that will allow anyone to develop a TCG in Unity with ease.

Art content and game design taken from official Zems assets and documents. Follow the future of this project here: http://www.facebook.com/Zemsai

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#177Graphics(Jam)3.88
#361Audio(Jam)3.10
#444Innovation(Jam)2.83
#482Overall(Jam)3.03
#523Fun(Jam)2.71
#592Mood(Jam)2.66
#626Humor(Jam)1.79
#740Theme(Jam)1.81

Comments

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

Multiplayer was a pain to get into... no AI.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

Nice art!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

It was pretty hard to get into. Game needs some polishing, but it's kinda interesting

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

@Jared, how many online CCGs do you know of where 'play online' means 'play versus AI'? We have a single player 'versus AI' option on the main menu...

@sugarbyte - thank you very much!

@xdegtyarev, thank you for your feedback!

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

I experienced a whole lot of bugs. From texts that never left the screen ("Choose a...deck", it was behind the enemy creatures), to misplaced cards, until the AI decided she would do nothing, locking the game. Also I think that you should add a Back button at the connection lobby. If I want to go back to the selection screen, I have to reload the page.

Now talking about the game. I loved it. It breaks some paradigms, and it's pretty tactical. I would like to play it with way more cards and stuff, and against people. I hope you people continue developing it.

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

@muramasa, thank you for your honest feedback! I'm aware there were a lot of bugs we weren't able to fix before the submission deadline, and I have them on my task list for fixing in the near future.

I definitely do plan on continuing to develop this game post-LD!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

I'm jealous of your team's artistic talent. Amazing

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Wow, I've always wanted a TCG where I did not have to rely on luck of the draw! Once this gets polished up, I'll definitely play it! Awesome job guys!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

I love the concept of drawing any card. I'm filing this one away for further analysis.

All that art was done during the jam?! Wow...

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Good game but find it difficult and not understandable. Visuals amazing as well as the sound.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03pm

A very impressive attempt at a CCG in three days! However, the tutorial was a little unclear and as a result the rules seem overly complex. I also had an issue with cards in my hand enlarging so I could see them but then not decreasing back to a normal size so that I could continue to play. Overall a very good effort if a bit unpolished. Well done.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Great artworks! Nice to see a card game in the jam.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Its cool to see a TCG entry! I think its a biiitt of a stretch to call it a 'game made for LD' though.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice game! It does defy some conventions of card games, which I really appreciated. The tutorial is long, since it's a meaty part of teaching someone how to play. I would suggest highlighting buttons/areas that the tutorials are referring to so it doesn't seem like text just talking to you. I'm not super great about being patient enough to sit through tutorials, so it took a lot of effort to focus on what it was telling me. (I'm that kind of person that would rather jump in and learn how to play during board games than to sit and be told from the rulebook!) I think it has great potential! Great job! :)

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Looks good, something I will definitely play with friends

McFunkypants says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Looks great!

McFunkypants says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:32pm

The art is great!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]