Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Maintenance

by Gamepopper - Jam Entry

You are given the job of an underground maintenance engineer, your task is to keep the streets walkable and the rail tunnel visible by fixing the catwalk barriers and the fusebox.

Instructions provided on title screen.

EDIT: Fixed the scoring issues as well as reduced the number of rats and people based on feedback. The Windows build is now the submission version and the Web versions are post-jam versions.

Made for Ludum Dare 29.
Theme: Beneath the Surface
Entry: Jam
Team: Solo

Time Spent:
Saturday: 4.5 Hours
Sunday: 13.5 Hours
Monday: 6.5 Hours

Tools:
HaxeFlixel (Framework)
FlashDevelop (Code)
Paint.NET (Graphics)
PhotoShop CS4 (Title Logo)
Windows Phone with Voice Recorder (Audio)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#74Theme(Jam)3.80
#379Humor(Jam)2.54
#388Innovation(Jam)2.98
#469Overall(Jam)3.05
#475Fun(Jam)2.80
#591Audio(Jam)2.30
#592Mood(Jam)2.66
#598Graphics(Jam)2.76

Comments

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Really well put together game.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

So stressful!

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

great game, love it when the train goes by, gets really frantic quickly!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

pretty neat concept! i definitely had an idea very similar to this for my game, but i went a different route. Nice job! keep following your dreams :D

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

Nice game! I got a score of 190, and some rat infestation complaints but no street complaints, aw yeah ! I thought people would fall there so i was more worried about fixing those parts haha

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54am

Nice game, like the stress of being a high speed metro maintenance main. Rats got out of control quick though and I'm sure a couple of people tripped over the open grates. Fun game though nice job!

trvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Overall, a fun game. Starts off slow, but becomes really hectic very quickly. Nice Job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

A good concept, cool screenshake when the subway train goes by :D Would have been cool if was like an extreme maintenance man with a jet propelled screwdriver launcher...

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Ahh… a facsimile of today's skilled workforce shortage crisis. :)

very neat. nice bit of extra affect with the train

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

THOSE STUPID CIVILIANS MESSING UP MY SIDEWALK. ARGHHHHHH. Hahah. Nice game!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:28am

Cool game. I enjoyed it. Good work.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:28pm

A really fun concept and I like the micro-management but holy mother of god it is hard. I got like 14 street complaints and 22 rat complaints on my first go. I really like it and out of the game's I've played so far in Ludum Dare 29 it is one of the best

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Oh the plight of the city worker! Really interesting idea, I liked how the mechanics of the top and bottom layers had just a tiny bit of a difference but it changed the gameplay a lot.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Man that guy has a busy day! Really cool and different game. I like it =)

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:56am

Very cute game although it gets very hectic. I liked it though I wasn't sure if my score of 111 is good or not.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Good idea. But as already said, it's stressful. Too much rats.

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Fun-fun

May 3, 2014 @ 9:05pm

The train going by is really cool. The game is stressful in a good way. Well done!

Tweak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:03pm

The game is really fun. The civilians tho - they kept messing meh' up.

gre says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very cool game mecanism and perfect take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]