Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Auger

by ComicSans - Jam Entry

Auger is a game where you descend into the depths to support your power-hungry collapsing civilization.

It takes about a minute to load. AWSD to move, SPACE to jump, left-click to activate your mining laser.

Update: We completed most of our to-do items in the "Post-Jam Version" linked above (except procedural levels). Check it out to see where we were going, but please only vote based on the "Web" version.

Made by Brian McBarron, Kit McLellan, and Michael Jones of Reality Foil, LLC. Voice-over by Will Bucknum of http://voicetogame.com. The game runs on top of the Vixle game engine, which we are in the process of building. Vixle is nearing alpha release, and will show up on Kickstarter very soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#228Audio(Jam)3.38
#289Theme(Jam)3.32
#326Graphics(Jam)3.50
#471Mood(Jam)2.88
#518Overall(Jam)2.96
#612Humor(Jam)1.84
#642Fun(Jam)2.36
#651Innovation(Jam)2.37
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

folkenwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

The way the blocks shatter is very satisfying.
So are these guards...drill sergeants? /ducks

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01am

Neat graphics, but the mouse sensitivity is super high (Unity web plugin, Firefox) and the mining laser takes super long to destroy anything. I got down into the Minecraft-esque area and found a crystal, but it was quite frustrating figuring out which blocks were in my way, and waiting for the mining to finish.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07am

The music was really nice but the character hit box seemed cumbersome at times. Kinda wish the other ores served a purpose but this is the fate of a game jam I guess.

KickBack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Overall I think I liked it. The mouse sensitivity is kinda high, but I got used to it. The biggest problem I had is that I always felt... Huge. I always seemed to get stuck on things that I felt I should be able to go through, which forced me to mine extra blocks to be able to pass through some areas, which combined with the mining being slow made this a little cumbersome. Also, the sameness of the lighting all over made it easily to get confused as to where I was.

The music and the overall mood was very good though.

VividReality says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

cool theme, a game I would definitely play more if the mouse sensitivity wasn't so high and if it were easier to move around between blocks. The graphics are nice and the music sets a good ambiance. Overall, very impressive for the time given.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

character collider is weird and makes it frustrating to progress, also some cubes can't be destroyed from certain angle or something

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I was confused by the apparent indestructibility of the sandy looking blocks... (They thwarted my attempt to dig back up to the surface).

I found three crystals and enjoyed the changing textures as I descended. The limited energy also added some tension to the digging.

Vixle looks interesting as well.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

The color palette is really nice.

pixelpig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Polished and nicely presented. good job!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

like the art style. like the fact that it gives you a goal. but after the first crystal I got lost and confused.:p also got stuck at certain areas and couldnt really tell how tall i was to fit through a hole. Other than that it is a well polished game. Job.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice graphics

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I would speed up the drilling rate and also show more visual feedback as you incrementally destroy the blocks.
The character collision object seems off center or too large, making it frustrating to burrow around and explore quickly.

Also I had no idea what the crystal object I was looking for was supposed to look like.

I would also put some kind of heads up display readout telling you what kind material your cursor is currently hovering over. It would make identifying things you lookaim at alittle more obvious and you could maybe get creative with naming them something besides sand/rock/crystal to create more mood.

Overall I like the scifi take on crystal mining
The game loaded up very slowly for me.

epiplon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

It's taking a great amount of time for some reason...

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49am

Thanks, everyone, for the great feedback! We'll tweak the mouse sensitivity, drilling time, and collider size in the follow-up version. Also, we plan to add a block overview so you can formulate some strategy without a lot of experimentation.

Loneshark says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:25am

I didn't realize which blocks were helpful the first run but figured it out the second run.

You would think the guards would say something if you were drilling into them...

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33am

wow, impressive! its like minecraft in unity! it was a tad laggy on my macbook

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

A gameplay based on daily reset, with income and upgrades would add some more fun.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Mouse was way too sensitive and the hitboxes felt off... like the idea of mining to gain the ability to mine more rather than some other resource though, it's an interesting take on the minecraft genre. Seems like it would be really hard to use it to it's full extent though, and require very carefully designed levels.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Hi. Took a while to realise where to go to drill. Interesting idea, the cubies certainly take time to generate.

May 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

fun game to play,

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]