Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Fish - meszka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a fish! With a drill! And there seems to be a bunch of beach-people having beach parties (and also cave parties?).
All shall be explained in the intro screen!

Created with JavaScript/HTML5 using the Jaws (http://jawsjs.com/) framework.

View meszka's journal. | View all entries by meszka

Ratings

Coolness54%
#149Humor3.29
#342Innovation3.38
#545Theme3.28
#629Fun2.94
#762Graphics2.84
#828Audio2.21
#836Mood2.67
#850Overall2.88

Comments

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

I like that the eyes of drill fish close while drilling!
I also really like that you chose a framework named Jaws for this game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Had fun drilling around as the fish. strategizing and surviving were interesting and surprisingly balanced elements. However, once you got the controls down it got a bit too easy, and also even though I killed all the humans the game kept going and I couldn't find anything

meszka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Sorry! I had a bug that prevented the game from ending. Should be fixed now.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

What a fun game, I really like the sound effects! The idea is very original.

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:15pm

It took me while to get the hang of controlling the fish & it wasn't too clear what I was supposed to be doing at first. Once I figured it out though, it's not a bad little game.

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:48pm

A bit difficult to control the fish at first, but cool concept :)

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Fun game.. Really liked the idea, but i wished it was more polished and smooth ...

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is a neat idea! I had a lot of trouble figuring out how to control, though--my fish kept on getting stuck in the sand and not moving, and there's no explanation at any point for the numbers at the top of the screen (which, I suspect, would help me figure out how to keep from dying all the time).

The background audio also quickly became actively irritating, and was probably, more than the sticky controls, the push that made me quit.

However, I really like the way you interpreted the theme, and your main character had a good feeling to it. Thanks!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

A funny game and a bit stressing when you are out of water :)

sink_t says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

A very original idea, considering how many platformers there are and how few digging games in comparison. My only problem with it is the very finicky and awkward control scheme, which made going where I wanted impossible.

travislucia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:10am

Not bad but the numbers at the top of the screen meant nothing to me? I was confused about what number means what? Cool idea though

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Neat game idea. I had a really hard time with the controls, and as a result couldn't get the fish to drill in the direction I wanted. Cool concept!

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Really interesting concept! Drilling didn't always work perfectly, but still fun!

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I liked this game! Fun and different. The only issue was that the controls were a bit wonky, which made it hard to take risks out of water for fear of getting stuck.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Super cool concept that compelled me to try over and over. I'm not able to get 30 land kills yet but it is a great expert goal.

Muciojad says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Hmm, idea is quite nice, drilling-gameplay is okay but heavy-controls are a little disturbing ;)

JimmyBoh says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:33pm

This is awesome! I would like the drill to last a little bit longer, but I love the game mechanic of drilling and I love the technique of flying through the air and onto the beach. Very "sharknado"-like!

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Like it

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:51am

Not bad. I found the controls a bit rough though.

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I got a little confused by the controls too but the other comments made me want to try again. Once you get it, it's quite an enjoyable game. I'd like to here the beach-pople scream.

loxo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:48am

Interesting concept! Sadly the game is short and the fish is hard to control. Additional randomly generated levels should help to increase the play time and the fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]