Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beast Emerging

by adcrusher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide a hungry beast in his quest eat everything in sight! Strengthen your monster and grow into shapes that you couldn't even dream of!

Controls:
W,A,D - Lick
Arrow keys- Move

This is my third Ludum Dare entry, and I had a lot of fun with this one. Good luck!

PS:
Depending on your browser, the web version could go slow or have sound glitches. If this is the case, please use the exe. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#36Fun3.96
#82Humor3.60
#84Graphics4.13
#96Overall3.82
#189Innovation3.64
#204Mood3.49
#299Theme3.56
#304Audio3.16

Comments

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28am

I really liked the monster design, and the shaking screen effect that happens when you walk is really satisfying. I do with you could move a bit faster, since if two or more dragons show up at once it's almost impossible to dodge all of their fire attacks.

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Poor Superman. Nice game.

idovingx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

i loved this, though sometimes getting hitting by a missile or fireball was completely unavoidable

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Really fun! Shouldn't the dragons be on my side, though?

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Perfect graphics and sound. Really solid work!

It was exciting to see the monster transform. Things like that makes you want to try again.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Super!

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Honestly a great entry. Loads of fun, great theme interpretation, great optics (Especially the evolve animation).

Only problem is that sometimes it feels like you couldn't have done anything to avoid damage:

- Depending on where a helicopter drops a bomb, it is impossible to dodge it.
- Dragons seem to have inconsistent fire speed and sometimes they fire so fast that you can't "fit between shots".
- Collision detection feels very unforgiving. Everything gives you full damage even if it seems to miss or just graze your legs.

The running bombs are great because whenever you eat one it was entirely your own fault.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Superman deserved it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice game!

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Super cool game, easy to understand and fun to play. Love the sense of humor and mix of things to eat!

travislucia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Outstanding game! I really enjoyed this and think its an awesome idea! Needs some music and maybe a few more sound effects but otherwise great!

scottyb says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

THIS GAME IS PRETTY INCREDIBLE. Really great job. I can't believe you made this in 48 hours, very nicely done.

mutuware says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Fun game! The emerging is neat.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice game, but a bit hard. Only managed to get to the second "phase" with very little HP so I died quickly.

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very pretty :)

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I really liked this game. I was having issues running on the web. Everything would stop moving for a second every few seconds.

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Really awesome graphics and fun concept. I'm not very good though so I'm sure I missed more cool stuff.
I kept wanting to eat the dragons :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Nice game ! The monster design is so cool, but I don't reach the third form yet... Gonna try again :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

I like the design a lot. The game is fun to play but maybe a little too hard.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:08pm

I'm in love with the graphics. It would be good if you were a little more agile, but I guess it fits to be slow and lumbering so I'm torn.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:34am

Really fantastic overall! Love the concept and the graphics, and it's really fun!

May 2, 2014 @ 5:00pm

This is really fun. Great concept and visuals. Love it!

May 2, 2014 @ 5:44pm

This is insanely good. Soo satisfying too eat the small people running around <3

ioboi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I like the progressive gameplay a lot :)

May 2, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Fun and charming!

mneubrand says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice game. Graphics, sound and the little shake effects made it a very immersive experience. Also nice progression in gameplay.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:09pm

That end-of-game screen *_* Oh man. So emotional~ Great monster design, and an awesome interpretation of the theme!

I really liked this game. It was hard, but I eventually was able to get the hang of the rhythm of it; I particularly liked how you added a couple of confusing inputs, so I didn't just run around eating absolutely everything without thinking about it (I tried licking the bombs, the helicopters, the dragons, the bombs walking around on the ground...)

Pretty much the only thing missing is a soundtrack, though at this point I feel like that might be something of a genre convention... ? I feel like there's a lot of these games involving monsters and killing things (albeit generally not from the perspective of the monster) that are SFX only. So, iffy on it.

Anyway, thanks for the game!

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:09pm

shweet. needs more birds and less missles to start out. i want to constantly suck in both damage AND people like a bada** monster

atomic_swerve says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:19am

I liked it! Great juice. The damage could have been communicated a little better (didn't realize the tongue took damage), but I kept trying after losing, so that's saying something. Good work!

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:11am

A very clever game, I like the staged gameplay where you emerge gradually. It becomes pretty hard to avoid the hazards later but I like this game a lot.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]